March 30, 2009 - by
15th Annual Golden Nole Awards Banquet Honors Student-Athletes

March 30, 2009



All that was missing was the red carpet because Florida State’s student-athletes were dressed to the nines at the 15th annual Golden Nole Awards Banquet, Monday night at the Oglesby Student Union. Hosted by the Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and presented by the Florida State Department of Athletics, the glitzy event is an all-sports banquet that recognizes the achievements of FSU student-athletes, those who have proudly worn the Garnet and Gold during this academic year.

Attended by more than 300 student-athletes, administrators and guests, awards from fall and spring sports were given to individuals from each team as chosen by the coaches. Criteria for the award consist of overall athletic achievement, community service, attitude and dedication. Other special awards were also presented including the Doc Fauls Award, the ACC Top Six Awards for Service, the Jason Evans Memorial Scholarship and the Athletic Director’s Cup for Service.


The Golden Nole Award is presented to the person on each sport team who has exhibited the ideals of intercollegiate athletics.  Head Coaches select these student-athletes by evaluating athletic and academic success as well as their contribution to service to the university and in the community.

Women’s Basketball – Mara Freshour

Men’s Basketball – Uche Echefu

Men’s Cross Country – Luke Gunn

Women’s Cross Country – Susan Kuijken

Football – Drew Weatherford

Soccer – Sarah Wagenfuhr

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Jarryd Botha & Andy Hodgson

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Kylen Huntwork

Volleyball – Lauren Richardson

Baseball – Jimmy Marshall, Ruairi O’Connor, Brian (Bo) O’Dell, Tommy Oravetz

Men’s Golf – Matt Savage

Women’s Golf – Sara Young & Caroline Westrup  

Softball – Carly Wynn

Men’s Tennis – Bobby Cameron     

Women’s Tennis – Federica Suess

Men’s Track & Field – Charles Clark & Ngoni Makusha

Women’s Track & Field – Susan Kuijken & Kim Williams


The Doc Fauls award, established in 1998, is an award that recognizes the senior Seminole Student-Athlete that has overcome the most adversity to participate in athletics for Florida State University.

As the Head Athletic Trainer at Florida State University from 1954-1986, Don “Doc” Fauls had the opportunity to touch the lives of many.  He consistently treated each and everyone in an honest, professional manner and was always willing to take the time to help the athletes through the physical and emotional pain that often came with participation in intercollegiate athletics. 

Darius McClure – Football

Sarah Wagenfuhr – Soccer


The Jason Evans Memorial Scholarship is given annually to an exceptional athletic training student.  This scholarship is named for Jason Evans, who was an outstanding, first-year athletic training student, ranked #1 in his admission class.  In the fall of 2006 he and his sister were tragically killed.  This scholarship commemorates Jason and his family’s commitment and passion for athletic training at Florida State University. 

Brandon Stone – Graduate Student Trainer


The ACC Top Six for Service recipients were selected each month throughout the year for something unique that distinguished them as top performers in FSU’s community service program.  The primary criteria includes a willingness to participate and a desire to serve despite time constraints.  The selected students made significant contributions to the community and were positive ambassadors for the department.

– Melanie Cabassol – Women’s Diving

– Javier Cruz – Men’s Cross Country

– Shawn Erickson – Men’s Swimming

– Maurice Harris – Football

– Keyla Smith – Women’s Track

– Sara Young – Women’s Golf                      


The Athletic Director’s Cup for Service is our most prestigious award, and is presented annually to the team that contributes the most service hours to the community over the course of the entire year.  The selection is made by measuring the total hours for the team and then dividing by the number of team members. 

Women’s Golf (8th year in a row)



Related Articles