May 12, 2010 - by
16th Annual Golden Nole Awards

May 12, 2010

Photo Gallery

The paparazzi missed out on something special Monday night as Florida State’s student-athletes were dressed to impress at the 16th Annual Golden Nole Awards Banquet at the Oglesby Student Union. Hosted by the Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and presented by the Florida State Department of Athletics, the star-studded event is an all-sports banquet that recognizes the achievements of FSU student-athletes, those who have proudly worn the Garnet and Gold during this academic year.

Community service continues to be a priority for the Florida State Athletics Department and this event also focuses on those efforts of the student-athletes.

“This is my favorite event,” Florida State Athletics Director Randy Spetman said Monday evening. “The reason it’s my favorite event is because it represents the whole person. And that’s what each and every one of you are. Each and every one of you are winners, and I am so proud to be here and to be the director of athletics. What you’ve done this year academically, athletically and community-wise is incredible. A year ago, we were slightly less than 5,000 hours of community service and I challenged our Student Services unit to strive for 5,000 hours. Well you all blew it away. We had 6,400 hours. You’ve been active in every major event across the community. You’ve donated canned foods to other student at our University. You’ve helped so many young people and you’ve represented us so well that everybody throughout this community is always thanking me for what you do.”

Nine of Florida State’s team completed more than 250 hours apiece this year but for the ninth consecutive year, it was the Women’s Golf Team that earned the Director’s Cup for Service with an average of 54.6 hours per individual. The women’s swimming and diving team achieved the second-highest average at 39 hours per individual and put in an astounding 1,168 total hours of community service.

Currently ranked No. 6 in the in the Division I Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Standings, the highest ever for Florida State, achievements have been plentiful for the Seminoles this season. The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution’s finish in up to 14 sports — seven women’s and seven men’s. The final Division I winter standings will be released Thursday, April 29, 2010. FSU is one of four ACC teams currently ranked in the Top 10. Virginia (5), North Carolina (8) and Duke (9) are the others.

On Monday night, however, it was about Florida State and Florida State only. Attended by more than 300 student-athletes, administrators and guests, awards from fall and spring sports were given to individuals from each team as chosen by the coaches. Criteria for the award consist of overall athletic achievement, community service, attitude and dedication. Other special awards were also presented including the Doc Fauls Award, the ACC Top Six for Service, the Jason Evans Memorial Scholarship and the Athletic Director’s Cup for Service.


The Golden Nole Award is presented to the person on each sport team who has exhibited the ideals of intercollegiate athletics. Head Coaches select these student-athletes by evaluating athletic and academic success as well as their contribution to service to the university and in the community.

Women’s Basketball – Angel Gray

Men’s Basketball – Ryan Reid

Men’s Cross Country – Matt Leeder

Women’s Cross Country – Susan Kuijken

Football – Christian Ponder

Soccer – Becky Edwards

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Andy Hodgson & Terry Horner

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Stephanie Sarandos & Aleia Monden

Volleyball – Brianna Barry Baseball – Stephen Cardullo, Ohmed Danesh, Mike Meschke

Men’s Golf – Seath Lauer

Women’s Golf – Jamie Kuhn

Softball – Carly Wynn

Men’s Tennis – Vahid Mirzadeh

Women’s Tennis – Lauren McCreless

Men’s Track & Field – Charles Clark & Brian Chibudu

Women’s Track & Field – Pilar McShine & Kim Williams


The Doc Fauls award, established in 1998, is an award that recognizes the senior Seminole Student-Athlete that has overcome the most adversity to participate in athletics for Florida State University.

As the Head Athletic Trainer at Florida State University from 1954-1986, Don “Doc” Fauls had the opportunity to touch the lives of many. He consistently treated each and everyone in an honest, professional manner and was always willing to take the time to help the athletes through the physical and emotional pain that often came with participation in intercollegiate athletics.

Kendrick Stewart – Football

Brianna Barry – Volleyball


The Jason Evans Memorial Scholarship is given annually to an exceptional athletic training student. This scholarship is named for Jason Evans, who was an outstanding, first-year athletic training student, ranked #1 in his admission class. In the fall of 2006 he and his sister were tragically killed. This scholarship commemorates Jason and his family’s commitment and passion for athletic training at Florida State University.

Kaye Jaynes – Graduate Student Trainer


The ACC Top Six for Service recipients were selected each month throughout the year for something unique that distinguished them as top performers in FSU’s community service program. The primary criteria includes a willingness to participate and a desire to serve despite time constraints. The selected students made significant contributions to the community and were positive ambassadors for the department.

Margo Zwerling – Women’s Track & Field

Ashley Stager – Women’s Softball

Jessie Carr – Women’s Swimming & Diving

James Ramsey – Baseball

Christian Ponder – Football

Charles Janson – Men’s Track & Field


Wanting to recognize the improved efforts of our athletic teams in terms of community service, a new award has been added in 2010: The Most Improved Community “SemiGnome” Service Award, which goes to the men’s and women’s teams that improved the most, in terms of community service hours, from the previous year.

Baseball Team

Soccer Team


The Athletic Director’s Cup for Service is our most prestigious award, and is presented annually to the team that contributes the most service hours to the community over the course of the entire year. The selection is made by measuring the total hours for the team and then dividing by the number of team members.

Women’s Golf (9th year in a row)

Related Articles