May 12, 2010 - by
20-Hour Recognition (April 7th)

May 12, 2010

At the FSU vs. North Florida baseball game several student-athletes were recognized and honored for the time and dedication they contributed to giving back to the community.

Over the course of the 2009-10 academic year FSU student-athletes have given approximately 6,400 hours of community service to Tallahassee and the surrounding areas.

Each student-athlete recognized proudly completed 20 or more hours of community service.

Florida State student-athletes graciously volunteered with organizations such as local elementary and middle schools, the Tallahassee Fitness Festival, the Dick Howser Center, the Boys and Girls Club, Florida Disabled Outdoor Association, the American Second Harvest Food Bank, Big Brother-Big Sister, the United Way, Special Olympics, the Boys Town of North Florida and a host of many others places.

A special thanks goes out to these outstanding student-athletes who despite time constraints found the time to give back to the community:

Women’s Basketball:

Angel Gray

Kayli Keough

Women’s Cross Country:

Amanda Skillen

Ashley Calhoun

Katherine McMeekin

Jessica Parry

Jennifer Farnung

Kate Hoyt

Women’s Golf:

Andrea Kaelin

Gen King

Hannah Thomson

Jamie Kuhn

Jessica Negron

Lacey Agnew

Whitney Wenglasz

Macarena Silva

Mary Beth Ramsay

Women’s Softball:

Lauren Varsalona

Mallory Borden

Robin Ahrberg

Ashley Stager

Women’s Soccer:

Becky Edwards

Marissa Kazbour

Women’s Swimming and Diving:

Jessie Carr

Melanie Cabassol

Stevi Steinhauer

Aleia Monden

Women’s Tennis:

Lauren McCreless

Women’s Track:

Amber Cornell

Caila Coleman

Jules Gibson

Tiara Swanagan

Margo Zwerling

Christal Washington

Erin Simmons

Women’s Volleyball:

Brianna Barry

Stephanie Neville

Jordana Price

Men’s Baseball:

James Ramsey

Men’s Basketball:

Luke Loucks

Men’s Cross Country:

Jacob Brooks

Darrin Gibson


Dekoda Watson

Rod Owens

Maurice Harris

Christian Ponder

Bert Reed

Jamie Robinson

Markus White

Recardo Wright

Men’s Golf:

Brooks Koepka

Men’s Track:

Bryan Howard

Charles Janson

Related Articles