March 3, 2010 - by
ACC Postgraduate Scholars

March 3, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C.  – Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced this week that Florida State’s Terese Gober (softball) and Jordana Price (volleyball) are among the 36 student-athletes who have been selected for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award and that Seminole softball’s Carly Wynn is one of three student-athletes who will receive the Thacker Award.  Additionally, four more student-athletes who plan to enter a professional career in their chosen sport were named honorary recipients.


Gober entered her senior season of softball with a 47-26 record, a 2.12 earned-run average, 37 complete games, and 490 strikeouts.  In addition to earning ACC All-Academic Softball Team honors as a junior, Gober ranked in the top-five of the ACC in five statistical categories, including leading the league with 24 wins.  A sport management major, Gober is a two-time member of the ACC All-Academic Softball Team and has made Florida State’s Dean’s List a total of four times.  The Griffin, Ga., native also volunteers with several organizations, including the Hope Center, Special Olympics, Relay for Life, and assists and mentors young girls at Ft. Braden Elementary School.  Gober plans to remain in Tallahassee after graduation to pursue a graduate degree in marketing at Florida State.


Price achieved her undergraduate degree in family & child studies before beginning her senior season in volleyball.  The Mountain Home, Idaho, native helped the Seminoles to a 68-26 overall record during her time in Tallahassee, including the 2009 ACC championship as well as an “Elite 8” appearance at the 2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship.  She finished her career ranked sixth in school history with a .312 hitting percentage and eighth with 306 total blocks.  Price was a two-time American Volleyball Coaches Association All-East Region honoree, and a 2009 All-ACC and AVCA All-America Honorable Mention performer.  During her time away from the court, the Family & Child Sciences major, who was also a 2008 ACC All-Academic Volleyball Team member, teaches and mentors young children with the Leon Learning Coalition and at Marigold Elementary School, and is a volunteer with Relay for Life.  Price will begin a physician’s assistant program at the Oregon Health and Science University in 2012.


Wynn was selected for the Thacker Award and ranks among the top-10 in school history in four statistical categories, including batting average, doubles, homeruns, and slugging percentage.  A two-time selection to both the ACC Softball Team and ACC All-Academic Softball Team, the psychology major was also selected to the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District III first team in 2008 and was a third-team All-America in 2009.  While away from the diamond, the Sharpsburg, Ga., native mentors young students at Fort Braden Middle School.  Wynn will pursue her Master’s degree in sport management at Florida State.


The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes–three from each league institution–who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements.  Each recipient will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education.  Each recipient has performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.


In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, four student-athletes will receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award.  Three golfers–Clemson’s Benjamin Martin, Virginia’s Whitney Neuhauser, and Wake Forest’s Brendan Gielow–and Duke lacrosse standout Max Quinzani will be recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic performance and intend to compete at the professional level.


The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, all of whom are former ACC commissioners.  The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletes at Wake Forest University.  His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.


Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years.  During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletes and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.


Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner of September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997.  During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.


Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James post-graduate scholarships were given as separate honors.  The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.


The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is awarded in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C.  Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC’s first television network.  Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through post-graduate studies at an ACC institution.


The 40 student-athletes will be honored on April 14th, 2010 at the ­­­­­Koury Convention Center in Greensboro, N.C. at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis Club.

Related Articles