June 17, 2014 - by
ACC Statement: Bradham’s hit ‘legal’ – Florida State University

ACC Statement: Bradham’s hit ‘legal’ – Florida State University


Rotating image8

ACC Statement: Bradham's hit 'legal'

 Statement from the
Atlantic Coast Conference:


The Atlantic Coast Conference Office has completed its NCAA mandated
review of the play that occurred at 1:58 of the 4th quarter of the
Miami @ Florida State game in which Florida State's Nigel Bradham was flagged for "Unsportsmanlike Conduct- Targeting an


Plays involving unsportsmanlike conduct and player safety have been an
increasing point of emphasis within NCAA rules based upon the American Football
Coaches Association and NCAA initiatives implemented to reduce the number of


Rule 9, Section 1, Article 4
of the NCAA Football Rules states: "No player shall target and initiate contact
to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm,
elbow or shoulder. When in question, it is a foul." A defenseless opponent
includes a receiver whose attention is focused on receiving the ball. If the
officials deem a foul flagrant, the offending player must be ejected.


Officials are required to make
instantaneous decisions during high-speed game action. The officials ruled that
there was question as to whether contact occurred to the head or neck
area of Miami's #2 and that the
action was against a defenseless player. When there is question as to the
specific area of contact, in accordance with NCAA rules which requires
officials to err on the side of player safety, Unsportsmanlike Conduct must be


Following the required video review by the Conference
Office, it has been determined that the contact made by Florida State's Bradham
was not to the head or neck of the receiving player nor was it flagrant. The
play was a legal hit and no further action will be taken by the Conference

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/27342

Leave a comment

FSU on YouTube

Related Articles