April 16, 2003 - by
All-ACC Selection Tim Pickett Earns Team-High Four Awards At Men’s Basketball Banquet

April 16, 2003

Florida State University guard Tim Pickett, who earned All-ACC second-team honors during the 2002-03 season, earned four awards and was the big winner at the Seminoles’ annual men’s basketball banquet hosted by head coach Leonard Hamilton. Pickett earned the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player, the Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player and the Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award as well as the team award for the highest free throw percentage. Senior Trevor Harvey and freshman Todd Galloway took home three awards each and nine other players earned one each at the event held at the University Center Club on the FSU campus.

Pickett (Daytona Beach, Fla.) enjoyed an outstanding season as he led the Seminoles in 11 statistical categories including scoring (17.1 ppg), rebounding (5.7 rpg) and steals (2.8 spg). Pickett ranked sixth in the ACC in scoring and scored in double figures in 26 of Florida State’s 29 games. He ranked 12th in the ACC in rebounding and became only the fourth Seminole player to lead the ACC in an individual statistical category as he led the league in steals. Pickett also ranked second in the ACC in free throw percentage with a .865 mark. His .865 free throw mark is the fifth highest single-season mark in school history.

Galloway (Baltimore, Md.) was one of the ACC’s top freshmen and led the Seminoles in assists and ranked in the top five in five different statistical categories. He earned the Otto Petty Assist Award, the sixth man award and the award for the team’s top 3-point field goal percentage. Galloway became only the third freshman in school history to lead the team in assists and ranked 10th in the ACC in that category (3.3 apg). He also led the team with a .398 3-point field goal percentage and led the ACC sixth men with nine double figure-scoring games.

Senior Trevor Harvey (Inagua, Bahamas), the only starter Hamilton loses from his 2002-03 squad, earned the team award for highest field goal percentage, the award for the most academically improved player and was presented with his varsity letter certificate by the Seminole Letterwinners Association. Harvey, a sociology major, shot a team-leading .590 from the field and finished his two-year career ranked sixth on Florida State’s career field goal shooting list.

Sophomore Anthony Richardson (Raleigh, N.C.) was named the teams’ Most Improved Player and junior Nate Johnson (Kansas City, Mo.) earned the teams’ unsung hero award. Junior Michael Joiner (Fayetteville, N.C.) and sophomore Adam Waleskowski (Kettering, Ohio) earned community service awards while junior Orenn Fells (Winston-Salem, N.C.) and senior Marcell Haywood (Plantation, Fla.) earned academic achievement awards. Haywood and seniors Nate Moran (Houston, Tex.) and Mike Mathews (Blountstown, Fla.) earned the varsity letter awards along with Harvey.

Orenn Fells             First Year Academic Achievement Award
Todd Galloway 3-Point Field Goal Percentage Award
Otto Petty Assist Award
Sixth Man Award
Trevor Harvey Most Improved Academic Achievement Award
Field Goal Percentage Award
Marcell Haywood Outstanding Academic Achievement Award
Nate Johnson Unsung Hero Award
Michael Joiner Community Service Award
Tim Pickett Free Throw Percentage Award
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award
Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player Award
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award
Anthony Richardson Most Improved Player Award
Adam Waleskowski Community Service Award
Related Articles