August 3, 2009 - by
Bailey And Mirzadeh Named To 2009 All-ACC Men’s Tennis Academic Team

Aug. 3, 2009


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – With the 2009-10 season on the horizon, two members of the Florida State men’s tennis team were honored for their work off the court this past season as Drew Bailey and Vahid Mirzadeh were named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic team.

Although Bailey, a native of Tallahassee, Fla., has been a four-time honoree of the ACC Academic Honor Roll, this is his first time on the All-ACC Academic team. Bailey closed out his Seminole career on a strong note with dominating performances in both singles and doubles. The tandem of Bailey and Maciek Sykut posted a 23-12 record which is tied for eighth on the all-time doubles wins list in a single season. Throughout his career at Florida State, Bailey amassed 74 doubles wins, which ranks him sixth on the all-time list.

For junior Mirzadeh (Wellington, Fla.), even though this was his first year playing collegiate tennis, he has been successful both on and off the court. Teaming up with partner Jean-Yves Aubone, the duo defeated the No. 1-ranked doubles team in the country, Cory Parr and Steven Forman from Wake Forest. The victory helped catapult Mirzadeh and Aubone into the top 20 in the ITA rankings and a berth in the NCAA Championships Doubles Tournament.

“I’m really proud of these guys,” said FSU head coach Dwayne Hultquist. “With Drew getting his MBA and Vahid also in the business school, it shows great character to play as well as they did on the court this year while also being successful in the classroom. Both of these men are great examples of what we want students-athletes to be at Florida State.”

In order to be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.


2009 All-ACC Men’s Tennis Academic Team Selections

Name, School Class Major
Brian Locklear, Boston College So. Undeclared
Akash Muppidi, Boston College Fr. Finance
Rok Bizjak, Clemson Jr. Financial Management
*Kevin Galloway, Clemson So. Financial Management
**Dylan Arnould, Duke Jr. Political Science
***Kiril Dimitrov, Duke Sr. Mathematics
Jared Pinsky, Duke So. Sociology
Drew Bailey, Florida State Sr. Business Administration
Vahid Mirzadeh, Florida State Jr. Exploratory – Business
*Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech So. Industrial Engineering
Kevin King, Georgia Tech Fr. Mechanical Engineering
*Ryan Smith, Georgia Tech So. Biochemistry
**Nickolai Nielsen, Maryland Sr. International Business
Christian Blocker, Miami So. Accounting
*Jay Weinacker, NC State Sr. Business Management
Houston Barrick, Virginia Jr. Government
#**Dominic Inglot, Virginia Sr. Commerce
*Sanam Singh, Virginia So. Undeclared
**Pedro Graber, Virginia Tech Jr. Industrial and Systems Engineering
Yoann Re, Virginia Tech Jr. Finance
Luke Somen, Virginia Tech Fr. Business
Jonathan Wolff, Wake Forest So. Psychology

#ACC Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year

*repeat All-ACC academic honorees

**Three-time honoree

***Four-time honoree

Related Articles