March 8, 2010 - by
Basketball Players Earn Honors

March 8, 2010

Florida State University sophomores Solomon Alabi and Chris Singleton have been named to the All-ACC Third Team and the ACC All-Defensive team and freshman Michael Snaer has been named to the ACC All-Rookie team in balloting conducted by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. The trio of starters led the Seminoles to a third place finish in the ACC standings and to a No. 3 seed in the upcoming ACC Tournament. The 57th Annual ACC Tournament is March 11-14 with the Seminoles drawing a bye in the first round and playing the winner of the Clemson/NC State game on Friday at approximately 9:00 p.m.

It marks the fifth consecutive and seventh season in eight years that at least one Seminole has earned All-ACC honors under head coach Leonard Hamilton. Under Hamilton, the Seminoles have had three players earn All-ACC First Team honors, two players earn All-ACC Second Team honors and now three players earn All-ACC Third Team honors. Prior to Hamilton’s arrival at Florida State, only one Seminole (Bob Sura in 1994) had earned All-ACC First Team honors.

With two selections on the All-ACC First, Second or Third teams the Seminoles were one of four teams in the 12 team ACC with multiple all-conference selections. Duke led the league with three selections; they were followed by Florida State, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest with two selections each.

“We are very happy for Solomon, Chris and Michael,” said Hamilton. “The ACC is a very competitive conference and to be recognized as a player for your outstanding efforts over the course of a year is a great accomplishment for all three of our players.”

Alabi is the ACC leader in blocked shots (2.3 bpg) and is looking to lead the ACC in blocked shots for the second consecutive season. He has a near career-high 70 blocked shots this season and has become the first player in school history to block at least 70 shots in consecutive seasons. Additionally, he is the Seminoles’ leading scorer with a career-high 11.6 points per game average and ranks in the top 20 in the ACC in rebounding with a career-high 6.1 rebounds per game average.

“It’s great for our team and shows that we have a lot of good players,” said Alabi. “it also shows that if we continue to play well as a team we can continue to reach the goals we set for ourselves before the season began. We just have to keep playing hard and pushing each other each and every day in practice.”

Singleton enters the ACC Tournament averaging a career-high 10.4 points per game while leading the league in steals (2.3 spg), ranking fifth in blocked shots (1.5 spg) and 10th in rebounds (7.2 rpg). He is bidding to become only the fifth player in ACC history to rank in the top five in both steals and blocked shots. Singleton was named the Most Valuable Player in leading the Seminoles to the championship of the Old Spice Classic in November – -an event that saw the Seminoles earn victories over Iona, Alabama and Marquette.

“Earning All-ACC honors and being named to the All-Defensive team is a great honor and is one that I share with my teammates,” said Singleton. “When I can be successful on the court that means my team is successful on the court and that is our main goal. My success is directly related to our success as a team and I’m thankful to my coaches and my teammates for our success so far this season.”

Alabi and Singleton received the top two highest numbers of votes on the five-member All-ACC Defensive team. The Seminoles are considered to be one of the top defensive teams in the nation and the top defensive teams in the ACC. Florida State ranks first in the nation and first in the ACC in field goal percentage defense (.372) and in the top 10 nationally and first in the ACC in both blocked shots (6.3 bpg) and scoring defense (60.2 points allowed per game).

Alabi has now been named to the ACC All-Defensive team in both of the last two seasons and the Seminoles have now had at least one player named to the defensive team in three consecutive seasons.

Snaer, who became a starter for the Seminoles on Feb. 6, is ranked fourth among all rookies with an 8.9 points per game average. He has scored in double figures in 14 of the Seminoles’ 30 games including his career-high of 18 points in the Seminoles’ victory over Boston College (Feb. 14) and UT Martin (Dec. 22).

“Being named to the All-ACC Rookie team says a lot for our program,” said Snaer. “Its great recognition for the hard work that our coaching staff has put in with me and it shows that we have a lot of outstanding players in our program. We have to continue to play as a team full of great players throughout the postseason.”

Snaer is the second Seminole in the last two years and sixth in school history to be named to the ACC All-Rookie team. Both Alabi (in 2009) and Alexander Johnson (in 2004) were named to the All-ACC Rookie team under Hamilton.

All-ACC First Team
Player              School          Points
Greivis Vasquez     Maryland        159*
Jon Scheyer         Duke            159*
Malcolm Delaney     Virginia Tech   159*
Trevor Booker       Clemson         137
Kyle Singler        Duke            134
* unanimous selection

All-ACC Second Team
Player              School          Points
Al-Farouq Aminu     Wake Forest     126
Nolan Smith         Duke            104
Slyven Landesberg   Virginia        95
Tracy Smith         NC State        82
Ishmael Smith       Wake Forest     76

All-ACC Third Team
Player              School          Points
Gani Lawal          Georgia Tech    73
Dorenzo Hudson      Virginia Tech   51
Chris Singleton     Florida State   50
Joe Tripani         Boston College  38
Solomon Alabi       Florida State   30

ACC All-Defensive Team
Player              School          Points
Chris Singleton     Florida State   48
Solomon Alabi       Florida State   39
Trevor Booker       Clemson         21
Lance Thomas        Duke            17
L.D. Williams       Wake Forest     16

ACC All-Rookie Team
Player              School          Points
Derrick Favors      Georgia Tech    52
Jordan Williams     Maryland        51
Durand Scott        Miami           44
C.J. Harris         Wake Forest     41
Michael Snaer       Florida State   35

Related Articles