August 2, 2000 - by
Bobby Bowden To Receive Lombardi Award

Aug. 2, 2000

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Bobby Bowden, who led Florida State to a
number one ranking and the national collegiate football championship last
season, will be presented with the Vince Lombardi Outstanding College Coach
Award on August 25.

Bowden will receive the award on the night before the Seminoles begin
defense of their national title against Brigham Young in the Pigskin
Classic at Jacksonville, Fla. The award will be presented to Bowden by Joe
Lombardi, chairman of the Lombardi Award committee and the brother of the
late Hall of Fame coach for whom the award is named. John Pecora, a
governor of the Downtown Athletic Club of New York, which annually awards
the Heisman Trophy, also will take part in the ceremony in his role as
executive director of the Lombardi Award.

Bowden is the fifth winner of the Lombardi Award, which is presented
annually to the college football coach who exemplifies outstanding
contributions as a teacher, commitment to excellence, strong leadership and
dedication to his school.

The 70-year-old Bowden has compiled a remarkable coaching record at Florida
State. Last year’s team was the first in the history of the Associated
Press College Football Poll to be ranked first in the nation from the start
of the season to the national title. He has compiled a 231-52-4 record at
Florida State after going 31-6 at Samford and 42-26 at West Virginia.
Bowden’s Florida State teams have gone 13-2 in bowl games in the past 15
years and have won an NCAA record 11 consecutive bowl games. His 17 bowl
game victories are second only to the 20 won by Joe Paterno of Penn State.

Bowden’s Florida State teams won more games than any college in the 1990s
and the Seminoles’ 109 victories in the 1990 were the most by any team in a
decade in college football history. Florida State clinched Bowden’s second
national title with a 46-29 victory over Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl.

Previous winners include Paterno, Paul Pasqualoni of Syracuse, Tubby
Raymond of Delaware and Joe Gardi of Hofstra.

Related Articles