October 22, 2013 - by
Bookert Named To Cousy Award Watch List

Oct. 22, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) –
Florida State University sophomore Devon Bookert, who led the nation with a .525 3-point field goal shooting percentage in 2013, has been named to the preseason Bob Cousy Award Watch list by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. The award recognizes the top point guard in college basketball and has been presented each year since 2004. Bookert is one of 47 players on the watch list which will be cut down to 20 in early February and then again to five in March before the winner is announced at the NCAA Final Four in April.

The Cousy Award is named for Bob Cousy who is considered by many to be the best playmaker in basketball history. Cousy enjoyed an All-America career at Holy Cross, leading the Crusaders to three NCAA tournaments and the 1947 NCAA title. As a professional player in the NBA, Cousy was named to the NBA’s 25th, 35th and 50th Anniversary All-Time teams and was a 13-time All-Star during his career with the Boston Celtics (1950-63) and the Cincinnati Royals (1969-70).

Cousy coached Boston College from 1963 to 1969, taking the Eagles to two NCAA tournaments. He also coached the NBA’s Cincinnati/Kansas City Royals from 1969 to 1974 and, at age 41, reactivated himself onto the 1969-70 Royals roster, making him the oldest performer in NBA history.

Cousy was enshrined into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1971.

Bookert averaged 6.5 points (fourth on the team), 1.8 rebounds (tied for seventh) and 2.4 assists (second) while shooting .489 from the field (fourth) and .525 from the 3-point line. He was the only player in the ACC who played prime time minutes and shot better than .500 percent from the 3-point line. As a freshman Bookert became the first player in school history to shoot above .500 percent from the 3-point line in a single season (32 of 61, .525 percent) and only the second player in school history to shoot at least .500 percent from the 3-point line in a single season in school history (Andrew Wilson, 41 of 82, .500 percent). He played in all 34 games and started the final 11 games of the 2013 season for the Seminoles.

A premier selection committee will choose the final five candidates from their play throughout the season and announce the finalists in early March. The Bob Cousy Award selection committee made up of members of the Hall of Fame, head coaches, sports information directors and selected media members will then be tasked with selecting the Bob Cousy Award winner for 2014.

The past winners of the award include Jameer Nelson of Saint Joseph’s (2004), Raymond Felton of North Carolina (2005), Dee Brown of Illinois (2006), Acie Law IV of Texas A&M (2007), D.J. Augustin of Texas (2008), Ty Lawson of North Carolina (2009), Greivis Vasquez of Maryland (2010), Kemba Walker of Connecticut (2011), Kendall Marshall of North Carolina (2012) and Trey Burke of Michigan (2013).

2013-14 Cousy Award Watch List
Devon Bookert, Florida State
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Keith Appling, Michigan State *
Dominic Artis, Oregon
Eric Atkins, Notre Dame *
Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova
Billy Baron, Canisius
Jason Brickman, LIU
Jahii Carson, Arizona State *
Siyani Chambers, Harvard *
Semaj Christon, Xavier
Jordan Clarkson, Missouri
Justin Cobbs, Cal
Brett Comer, Florida Gulf Coast
Quinn Cook, Duke *
Aaron Craft, Ohio State *
Brandyn Curry, Harvard
Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
Michael Dixon, Memphis
Kris Dunn, Providence
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana *
Tim Frazier, Penn State
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Kasey Hill, Florida
Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount *
Joe Jackson, Memphis
Chris Jones, Louisville
DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
Walt Lemon, Bradley
Derrick Marks, Boise State
T.J. McConnell, Arizona
Preston Medlin, Utah State
Shabazz Napier, UConn
Jake Odum, Indiana State *
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga *
Elfrid Payton, Lafayette
Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State *
Trevor Releford, Alabama *
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State *
Markel Starks, Georgetown
Keifer Sykes, Green Bay
Chaz Williams, UMass *
Nigel Williams-Goss, Washington
Kendall Williams, New Mexico *
*repeat honorees from 2013

Related Articles