May 29, 2012 - by
Boyd, Ramsey Golden Spikes Semifinalists

May 29, 2012

DURHAM, N.C. – Florida State’s Jayce Boyd and James Ramsey were named semifinalists for the 2012 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award as announced by USA Baseball on Tuesday, May 29.

This marks the 35th consecutive year that the award has been presented to the nation’s top amateur baseball player.

Ramsey, who was named an All-ACC first team honoree for the second year in a row, became the fifth Seminole in school history to garner ACC Player of the Year accolades in 2012. The senior captain is the first Seminole to win the award since Buster Posey took home the individual honor in 2008. He becomes just the third Seminole outfielder to win the award joining J.D. Drew (1997) and John Ford-Griffin (2001).

The Alpharetta, Ga., native enters the NCAA Tournament ranked in the top 10 in the ACC in 10 offensive categories while leading in runs scored (69), total bases (134), on-base percentage (.515) and slugging percentage (.673). He is the only player in the country to rank in the top 10 in on-base percentage, slugging percentage, runs per game, runs and walks. A semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy and finalist for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, Ramsey is currently hitting .382 with 10 doubles, six triples and 12 home runs. He has started all 58 games in centerfield for the Seminoles in 2012 and has posted a perfect fielding percentage in 134 chances.

Boyd heads into the NCAA Tournament leading all hitters in the ACC with a .395 average. He also leads the league with 87 hits, while ranking in the top 10 in doubles (20), RBI (55) total bases (116) and on-base percentage (.465). An All-ACC first team first baseman in 2012, the Cantonment, Fla., native also hit an ACC-best .381 against league opponents in 30 games this year. Boyd has played solid defensively at first base all season where he has posted a .986 fielding percentage.

Jayce Boyd leads the ACC in hitting (.395) and in hits (87). — powered by — will once again be the online home for the award. The Web site features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and video highlights for the 2012 semifinalists. Fans can follow online at as the list of 30 players is narrowed to three finalists on Tuesday, June 5.

For the second year in a row, the GSA will be awarded live on MLB Network. On Friday, July 6, the three finalists for the award will be at MLB Network’s studios for the presentation on The Rundown, which will feature interviews, video highlights and the announcement of the winner. The presentation will also be simulcast live on and

Florida State was one of three schools with multiple semifinalists for the Golden Spikes Award in 2012. Texas A&M led all schools with three, while LSU also had two. In all, 26 total colleges and universities are represented on the list.

Among conferences, the SEC leads with six players, while the ACC and Big 12 have five and the Pac-12 has four. Juniors are tops with 16 semifinalists and they are joined by five sophomores and eight seniors. Carlos Rodon (North Carolina State) is the only freshman on the list.

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2012. After working closely with sports information directors and amateur baseball media across the country to determine watch lists and the top-performing athletes, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. A ballot featuring the names and accomplishments of the 30 semifinalists will now be sent to a group of more than 215 voters which will select the three finalists and eventual winner. Beginning today fans will also be able to vote on the 2012 GSA by visiting and selecting their favorite amateur player.

“USA Baseball congratulates each of the 30 student-athletes and their respective baseball programs,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO. “The move to MLB Network last year was a significant step toward increasing exposure for the award among players, schools and fans, and we look forward to building on that excitement for 2012. We wish all of the semifinalists the best of luck.”

A complete list of the 30 2012 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists are as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference
Mark Appel, RHP, Junior, Stanford, Pac-12
Sean Bignall, OF, Senior, Arkansas-Little Rock, Sun Belt
Jayce Boyd, IF, Junior, Florida State, ACC
Kris Bryant, IF, Sophomore, San Diego, WCC
Kevin Gausman, RHP, Sophomore, Louisiana State, SEC
Jeff Gelalich, OF, Junior, UCLA, Pac-12
Marco Gonzales, LHP/IF, Sophomore, Gonzaga, WCC
Andrew Heaney, LHP, Junior, Oklahoma State, Big 12
Kurt Heyer, RHP, Junior, Arizona, Pac-12
Goose Kallunki, IF, Senior, Utah Valley, Great West
Daniel Kassouf, IF, Senior, Appalachian State, SoCon
Alex Keudell, RHP, Senior, Oregon, Pac-12
Trenton Moses, IF, RS-Junior, Southeast Missouri, Ohio Valley
Tyler Naquin, OF, Junior, Texas A&M, Big 12
D.J. Peterson, IF, Sophomore, New Mexico, Mountain West
Nick Petree, RHP, RS-Sophomore, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
Kevin Plawecki, C, Junior, Purdue, Big Ten
Danny Poma, OF, Senior, Hofstra, CAA
James Ramsey, OF, Senior, Florida State, ACC
Raph Rhymes, OF, Junior, Louisiana State, SEC
Carlos Rodon, LHP, Freshman, North Carolina State, ACC
Michael Roth, LHP, Senior, South Carolina, SEC
Richie Shaffer, IF, Junior, Clemson, ACC
Chris Stratton, RHP, Junior, Mississippi State, SEC
Ross Stripling, RHP, Senior, Texas A&M, Big 12
Marcus Stroman, RHP, Junior, Duke, ACC
Josh Turley, LHP, Junior, Baylor, Big 12
Michael Wacha, RHP, Junior, Texas A&M, Big 12
Alex Yarbrough, IF, Junior, Mississippi, SEC
Mike Zunino, C, Junior, Florida, SEC

Related Articles