February 27, 2012 - by
Bravard and Howard Capture All-ACC Honors

Feb. 27, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (Seminoles.com) – Florida State senior center Cierra Bravard and sophomore forward Natasha Howard captured All-ACC Third Team honors on Monday, as the 2011-12 All-ACC teams were announced by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

The accolades are voted on by the league’s “Blue Ribbon Panel,” which consists of national and local media members, as well as school representatives.

Bravard leads the Seminoles in scoring (14.2 ppg) and shooting (.542) for the second straight season. Her third-team selection marks the third all-conference award for the 6-4 Sandusky, Ohio, native. She was named to the ACC All-Freshman team in 2009 and to the All-ACC First Team in 2011.

Bravard scored 24 points on 11-of-13 shooting and grabbed 10 boards in her final home game at the Donald L. Tucker Center in a 66-57 loss to Virginia on Sunday.

Howard tallied an ACC-best 12 double-doubles this season and ranked first in conference games in rebound average (9.4). Among her top performances this year were a 22-point, 17-rebound game and a 19-point, 15-rebound effort – both against No. 7 Miami.

The 6-3 Toledo, Ohio, native leads FSU in rebounds (9.1 rpg), blocks (1.2 bpg) and steals (1.5 spg) and sits third on the Seminoles in scoring (12.2 ppg).

The 2011-12 All-ACC honors raise FSU’s all-time all-conference haul to 46 total awards.

The Seminoles captured the No. 8 seed in the ACC Tournament this season and will play No. 9 seed N.C. State on Thursday at 3 p.m. in the first round at the Greensboro (N.C.) Coliseum. The winner will face No. 1 seed Duke on Friday at 3 p.m.

Both games will appear on RSN-TV, a collection of regional networks including Fox Sports South, Comcast Sports Net, FSN-Florida and the New England Sports Network.

For more information on the conference championship, visit the official site of the 2012 ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament at www.theACC.com/SheCanPlay. Fans can also follow the upcoming Tournament games on Twitter at @ACCwbb.

For more information on the Florida State women’s basketball team follow @FSU_WBasketball on Twitter.

All-ACC First Team

Chelsea Gray, Duke

Shenise Johnson, Miami

Alyssa Thomas, Maryland

Elizabeth Williams, Duke

Riquna Williams, Miami

All-ACC Second Team

Sasha Goodlett, Georgia Tech

Tianna Hawkins, Maryland

Tyaunna Marshall, Georgia Tech

Ariana Moorer, Virginia

Chay Shegog, North Carolina

All-ACC Third Team

Cierra Bravard, Florida State

Bonae Holston, NC State

Natasha Howard, Florida State

Haley Peters, Duke

Stefanie Yderstrom, Miami


Laura Broomfield, NC; Lakevia Boykin, WF; Ataira Franklin, VA; Marissa Kastanek, ST; Lynetta Kizer, MD; Laurin Mincy, MD.


Related Articles