January 20, 2016 - by
Bulgak Named Senior CLASS Award Candidate

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) — Florida State Women’s Basketball center Adut Bulgak is one of 30 women’s collegiate basketball student-athletes selected as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award, announced by the award committee.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Bulgak is a sociology major who is driven to succeed in the classroom and uses that same drive to excel on the court as well. The Edmonton, Canada, native has already accomplished a lot in her senior year, earning ACC Player of the Week honors on Nov. 23, producing five 20-point games this year and totaling 17 career double-doubles in just 53 games played.


Bulgak Named Senior CLASS Award Candidate


The All-America center is averaging 14.7 points, 8.3 rebounds and shooting 47.3 percent from the floor. The versatile performer is even more impressive from beyond the arc, shooting 43.5 percent (20-of-46) from downtown. In ACC play, Bulgak is averaging 15.4 points, 9.4 rebounds and is shooting 50 percent (11-of-22) from three-point range.

Through her 1 ½ years in Tallahassee, Bulgak has made herself well-known in the community with an array of activities. She has read to children at elementary schools, cheered on runners at 5K events, visited churches and donated her time at community centers.

Bulgak joins Miami’s Michelle Woods as the two ACC representatives on the 30-player list.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.


Jillian Alleyne Oregon Jonquel Jones George Washington
Ashley Beverly Kelley Troy Jordan Jones Texas A&M
Imani Boyette Texas Whitney Knight Florida Gulf Coast
Adut Bulgak Florida State Zahna Medley Texas Christian
Ruvanna Campbell Illinois at Chicago Kelsey Minato Army West Point
Cait Craft Ohio State Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina
Elisha Davis Arizona State Janelle Perez Northwestern State
Aundrea Gamble Arkansas State Shereesha Richards Albany
Ruth Hamblin Oregon State Raquel Scott Holy Cross
Nikki Hegstetter Alabama Breanna Stewart Connecticut
Bria Holmes West Virginia Rachel Theriot Nebraska
Malina Howard Maryland Elle Tinkle Gonzaga
Marissa Janning Creighton Kaylon Williams Oklahoma
Moriah Jefferson Connecticut Elizabeth Wood Maine
Chanise Jenkins DePaul Michelle Woods Maimi (FL)
Related Articles