November 10, 2005 - by
Castillo, Weatherford Earn Academic Honors

Nov. 10, 2005

Sixth-year senior center David Castillo and redshirt freshman quarterback Drew Weatherford have proven they are a good combination on the field and now they have shown it off the field as well. Both solid students, Castillo and Weatherford were voted to the 2005 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District III football first team for their respective positions.

Castillo, who also earned Academic All-District first team honors last season, maintains a 3.5 grade point average in dietetics. He earned his bachelor’s degree in exercise science in December 2004 and is working towards a second bachelor’s degree. A 2005 National Football Foundation $18,000 postgraduate scholarship winner, Castillo is a finalist for the Draddy Trophy billed as the “Academic Heisman.” He has been a member of Kappa Omicron Nu Honor Society since 2003 and has twice (2003 and 2004) been named to the All-ACC Academic Football Team. He has earned ACC Honor Roll status in each of his years at FSU and has been named to FSU’s Dean’s List seven times for achieving a 3.5 GPA or better.

Weatherford, who is a sophomore academically, holds a 3.361 grade point average in business. Named to the 2005 ACC Honor Roll, Weatherford has earned Dean’s List status in each of his two semesters at Florida State.

The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) selects Academic All-America® teams in 12 programs: football, women’s volleyball, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, baseball, softball, men’s track & field/cross country, women’s track & field/cross country, men’s at-large and women’s at-large. A first team, second team and third team are selected in both the University (Division I and I-AA) and College (Division II, III and NAIA) Divisions. Football consists of just first and second teams.

The minimum GPA for the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America® program is 3.20. Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.20 or better. To be eligible, an athlete must have completed one full academic year at their school.

District 3 Winners

University Division



Weatherford, Drew – FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY – Quarterback

Roach, Kevin – EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY – Receiver

Banks, Gary – TROY UNIVERSITY – Receiver

Jennings, Greg Olsen – MIAMI, UNIVERSITY OF – Tight End

Hall, Patrick – COASTAL CAROLINA UNIVERSITY – Running Back

Hall, Reggie – ELON UNIVERSITY – Running Back

Golightly, Gerell – HAMPTON UNIVERSITY – Offensive Line

Magerko, Matt – JAMES MADISON UNIVERSITY – Offensive Line

Castillo, David – FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY – Offensive Line


Degory, Mike – FLORIDA, UNIVERSITY OF – Offensive Line


Hamilton, Marcus – VIRGINIA, UNIVERSITY OF – Defensive Back

Anderson, Yeatts – DAVIDSON COLLEGE – Defensive Back

Ford, Brian – WOFFORD COLLEGE – Defensive Back

Rashad, Sha’reff – CENTRAL FLORIDA, UNIVERSITY OF (UCF) – Defensive Back

Justice, Doug – NORTH CAROLINA, UNIVERSITY OF – Linebacker

Smith, Josh – WOFFORD COLLEGE – Linebacker

Siler, Brandon – FLORIDA, UNIVERSITY OF – Linebacker

Nichols, Eli – DUKE UNIVERSITY – Defensive Line

Jetton, Mark – ELON UNIVERSITY – Defensive Line

Kinsell, Kyle – DAVIDSON COLLEGE – Defensive Line

Bethay, Katon – WOFFORD COLLEGE – Defensive Line

Related Articles