November 1, 2001 - by
Chris Hope Wins Post-Graduate Scholarship

Nov. 1, 2001

Morristown, NJ –
Chairman of The National Football
Foundation and College Hall of Fame Jon F. Hanson announced its 2001
class of National College Scholar-Athletes, which represents 16 of the
nation’s finest college football student-athletes from all divisions of
college football. Florida State’s Chris Hope was among the eight Division I-A athletes name. Since 1959, when the first class was selected, 602 scholar-athletes have been awarded this high honor based on superior academic performance, outstanding football
ability, strong leadership, and citizenship. Each scholar-athlete will be awarded an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and will be honored at the Foundation’s 44th Annual Awards Dinner held at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City, December 11, 2001.

This year’s class has an average grade point average of 3.72 on a 4.0
scale. They are:

Andre Davis – Virginia Tech – Wide Receiver – Property Management –
Niskayuna, NY
Vernon Fox – Fresno State University – Strong Safety – Sociology – Las
Vegas, NV
Joaquin Gonzalez – University of Miami – Offensive Lineman – Marketing –
Miami, FL
Chris Hope – Florida State University – Free Safety – Communications –
Rock Hill, SC
Jeff Kelly – Univ. of So. Mississippi – Quarterback – Business
Administration – Hattiesburg, MS
Patrick Ramsey – Tulane University – Quarterback – Accounting & Finance
– Simsboro, LA
Tracey Wistrom – University of Nebraska – Tight End – Mathematics – Webb
City, MO
Kyle Young – Clemson University – Center – Secondary Education –
Clemson, SC

Christopher Hope, Defensive Back, Florida State University
An All-America candidate as one of the nation’s top safeties, Chris Hope
possesses a unique blend of football playing ability and academic
Consistently a Dean’s List member, Hope was named to the Verizon/CoSIDA
All-Academic First Team in 2000. A two-time All-America Scholar and
three-time member of the Atlantic Coast Conference Honor Roll, Hope won
the Golden Torch Award in 1999 for having the highest grade point
average on the football team. In addition, he is a member of the Golden
Key National Honor Society and the WB Dubois National Honor Society.
A starter in two National Championship games for Florida State, Hope led
all Seminole defensive backs with 83 tackles and 6.8 tackles per game in
2000. The 2001 Defensive Team Captain, Hope has missed only seven starts
in 45+ games in his career and is a two-time All-ACC Second Team
Away from the field, Hope actively participates in a Christmas Shopping
Spree for underprivileged children during the holiday season and helps
organize many football camps for children in his hometown. He also
played a key role in the 2001 Sesquicentennial Celebration by
representing the University in lighting one of three torches symbolizing
the virtues of physical, mental, and moral strength.

Vince Huntsberger – University of Montana – Strong Safety – Biology /
Pre-Medicine – Missoula, MT Peter Lee – Yale University – Quarterback –
Economics – Chicago, IL Adam Waugh – Illinois State University –
Linebacker – Political Science – Cullowhee, NC

Curry Dawson – Angelo State University (TX) – Defensive Tackle – Animal
Science – Water Valley, TX Eddie Key – Univ. of Southern Arkansas –
Quarterback – Economics – Chicago, IL

Travis Ahner – Carroll College (MT) – Defensive Back – Sociology –
Helena, MT Timothy Hess – Widener University (PA) – Defensive Back –
Accounting – Brookhaven, PA

Eddie Eviston – Georgetown College (KY) – Quarterback – Accounting – Ft.
Thomas, KY

To be eligible for a National Football Foundation and College Hall of
Fame postgraduate fellowship, the nominee must be a senior or graduate
student in his final year of eligibility, have a grade point average of
at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, have shown superior academic application
and performance, have outstanding football ability as a first team
player, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

“With 172 outstanding candidates competing for this year’s awards, the
selection of the scholar-athletes was a difficult challenge for the
Awards Committee. The committee chose what it feels is a sensational
group that represents the ideals of the Foundation with great
distinction,” stated Robert E. Mulcahy III, chairman of the Awards
Committee and director of athletics at Rutgers University.

According to National Football Foundation Chairman Jon F. Hanson, “For
43 years, these prestigious awards have placed the spotlight on only a
chosen few who have excelled above all in the area of scholarship,
citizenship and athletic performance. We are delighted to have this
opportunity to honor these outstanding young men for all of their

At the Awards Dinner on December 11, one scholar-athlete will receive
the Vincent dePaul Draddy Trophy. Often termed the “Academic Heisman,”
this award provides the winner with a $25,000 scholarship towards their
postgraduate studies. Since 1990, 11 scholar-athletes have been
fortunate to walk away from the Awards Dinner with this much-acclaimed
trophy. Past winners include Peyton Manning from the University of
Tennessee and Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida.

Related Articles