April 7, 2006 - by
Cloer And Sucupira Lead No. 23 FSU Past Virginia Tech, 5-2

April 7, 2006

BLACKSBURG, Va. – Led by the underclassmen, the No. 23-ranked Florida State men’s tennis team downed No. 54 Virginia Tech 5-2 in an Atlantic Coast Conference men’s tennis match at the Burrows-Burleson Tennis Center Friday afternoon.

The Hokies fall to 12-10 overall and 3-5 in the ACC, while the Seminoles improve to 13-9 and 6-2 in conference play.

“This was not our best effort, but anytime you get an ACC win on the road you have to be happy,” FSU head coach Dwayne Hultquist said. “I was real pleased with Chris Cloer and Jonathas Sucupira. They dominated and won really fast. As a team, we have to step up our effort before we travel to No. 8 Virginia.”

FSU won the four singles matches. At the No. 2 spot, Sucupira downed Alexei Sergeev 6-3, 6-2. Sam Chang upset 125th-ranked Albert Larregola, 6-7, 7-5, 7-6 at No. 3. In No. 4 singles, Maciek Sykut beat Nicolas Delgado, 7-5, 2-6, 7-5. Cloer rounded out singles action with a 6-3, 6-1 triumph over Brandon Corace.

Arvid Puranen, the 52nd-ranked player in the country, knocked off 51st-ranked Ytai Abougzir in straight sets, 7-6, 7-6 at No. 1 singles. Rosenfeld, Tech’s other victor, defeated Chris Westerhof, 7-6, 6-3 at No. 5 singles.

FSU captured the doubles point as No. 20 Abougzir and Westerhof upended Brent Wilkins and Christian Guevara, 8-6. The Sucupira/Chang duo also took care of the Puranen/Rosenfeld pair, 8-3.

The Seminoles travel to No. 8 Virginia for their next contest.

#23 Florida State 5, #54 Virginia Tech 2


1. #52 Arvid Puranen (VT) def. #51 Ytai Abougzir (FSU), 7-6, 7-6 (4)

2. Jonathan Sucupira (FSU) def. Alexei Sergeev (VT), 6-3, 6-2

3. Sam Chang (FSU) def. #125 Albert Larregola (VT), 6-7, 7-5, 7-6

4. Maciek Sykut (FSU) def. Nicolas Delgado (VT), 7-5, 2-6, 7-5

5. David Rosenfeld (VT) def. Chris Westerhof (FSU), 7-6, 6-3

6. Chris Cloer (FSU) def. Brandon Corace (VT), 6-3, 6-1


1. #20 Abougzir/Westerhof (FSU) def. Brent Wilkins/Christian Guevara (VT), 8-6

2. Larregola/Delgado (VT) def. Sykut/Andrew Bailey (FSU), 8-4

3. Sucupira/Chang (FSU) def. Puranen/Rosenfeld (VT), 8-3

Related Articles