March 17, 2010 - by
CWS Legends Team

March 17, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – This season marks the end of an era in college baseball as the 2010 Men’s College World Series will be the last one played in Omaha’s Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium.

To commemorate this special year, the NCAA is asking baseball fans to help select the CWS Legends Team. The Legends Team will represent those student-athletes who had the best CWS performance in the 60 years the event has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium. The team will include two student-athletes per fielding position, four pitchers, two designated hitters, three head coaches and two `utility players.’ The utility players will be determined after fan voting and represent those student-athletes deserving recognition who may not have been selected by fans, media and coaches at a particular position.

Florida State University was honored with three former Seminoles nominated by the NCAA for potential selection to the CWS Legends Team. Those former student-athletes include:

Doug Mientkiewicz, First Base, 1995
J.D. Drew, Outfield, 1995
Woody Woodward, Shortstop, 1963

Right now, FSU fans can go on line and vote for these three well-deserving Seminoles as well as placing votes for the rest of the members of the CWS Legends Team on the NCAA website at the following link: click here.

The CWS Legends Team members will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium. Those in attendance will be formerly honored during the CWS Opening Ceremonies in Rosenblatt Stadium on Friday, June 18 and invited to watch the first day of CWS competition as guests of the NCAA on Saturday, June 19.

Related Articles