December 14, 2005 - by
David Castillo Named Tatum Award Winner

Dec. 14, 2005

Florida State’s David Castillo and Duke’s Brendan Dewan have been named co-recipients of the 2005 James E. Tatum Award, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced today.

The Tatum Award is given annually in memory of the late Jim Tatum to the top senior student-athlete among the league’s football players. Tatum, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year, coached in the fifties at both Maryland and North Carolina and believed strongly in the concept of the student-athlete.

Castillo won three ACC championships while at Florida State, including the inaugural ACC football championship game in 2005. The senior center was a second team All-ACC selection in 2003 and an All-ACC honorable mention pick this season. With Castillo anchoring the offensive line, the Seminoles were first in the ACC in passing offense and third in total offense in 2005. In 2003, Castillo won the Seminoles’ Bob Crenshaw Award, which is given to the player with the biggest heart.

“I am honored to be named a Tatum Award winner,” said Castillo. “I have to give credit to all the people here at Florida State who helped me along the way. Our academic support program does an outstanding job and our coaches emphasize the importance of taking care of school first. I’ve had some excellent professors at FSU and have learned a great deal during my academic career. Hopefully I’ll be able to continue to do so if I’m fortunate enough to attend medical school here.”

The Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., native graduated from Florida State with a degree in exercise science in 2004, and is currently pursuing a second major in dietetics while preparing to take the MCAT for admission to medical school. Castillo boasts a 3.48 overall grade point average, including a 3.38 over his last two semesters, and was a member of the ACC All-Academic Team in 2004. An ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-District selection in 2004, Castillo was a second team Academic All-American and was a National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame $18,000 Postgraduate Scholarship recipient in 2005.

Castillo becomes Florida State’s first Tatum Award winner since Daryl Bush in 1996, and just the second overall. Florida State is tied with Duke for third in overall Tatum Award recipients, which has been awarded since 1990. North Carolina and Virginia have each had three previous Tatum Award winners.

Dewan had 55 tackles for the Blue Devils in 2005, and finished his career with 303 stops. He played in 42 career games with 41 starts, and accumulated 23.5 tackles for loss, including eight this season. The linebacker from Austin, Texas, also recovered a fumble and had 1.5 quarterback sacks in 2005. Dewan intercepted three passes in his career and finished among the top three tacklers for Duke in each of the last three seasons.

Dewan was a member of the Academic All-ACC Football Team in 2004, the same season he was named the Blue Devils’ Co-Outstanding Linebacker. He also earned ACC Player of the Week status on Nov. 15, 2004, and was named the league’s Rookie of the Week once in 2002.

A biological anthropology and anatomy major, Dewan posted a 3.12 grade point average while at Duke, including a 3.71 mark over his last two semesters. Dewan is slated to enter medical school in the fall of 2006.

He becomes Duke’s first Tatum Award winner since Chris Douglas in 2003, and is just the second Blue Devil to win the award overall.

Related Articles