March 9, 2009 - by
Davis-Cain, Freshour Earn ACC All-Tournament Team Honors

March 9, 2009


After averaging 17.0 and 16.0 points per game in two games, respectively, Florida State seniors Tanae Davis-Cain and Mara Freshour have been named to the 2009 ACC All-Tournament Second Team, marking the first time in program history that two Seminoles have earned such an honor in the same season. 

In the win over Boston College, both Davis-Cain and Freshour led all players with 20 points apiece and combined for eight buckets from three-point range.  In the semifinal loss to Duke, the pair were the only Seminoles to score in double figures as Davis-Cain had 14 points and Freshour added 12.

Davis-Cain and Freshour are used to making history as Seminoles.  The duo will be the first in program history to play in four straight NCAA Tournaments, have led Florida State to its highest national ranking and led the Seminoles to a first-place finish in the ACC regular-season, also a program-first. 

Davis-Cain and Freshour join three other former Seminoles who earned ACC All-Tournament Team honors in their careers.  Tia Paschal (1993, first team), Latavia Coleman (2000, first team) and Brooke Wyckoff (2001, second team) also garnered the distinction.


First Team

Kristi Toliver, Maryland

Marissa Coleman, Maryland

Carrem Gay, Duke

Abby Waner, Duke

Jessica Breland, North Carolina


Second Team

Carolyn Swords, Boston College

Marah Freshour, Florida State

Tanae Davis-Cain, Florida State

Italee Lucas, North Carolina

Rashanda McCants, North Carolina


Tournament MVP

Marissa Coleman, Maryland

Related Articles