November 24, 2003 - by
Dockett, Boulware, Samuels, Barron and Thorpe Named First Team All-ACC

Nov. 24, 2003

Tallahassee, Fla. – Florida State Defensive tackle Darnell Dockett, linebacker Michael Boulware, cornerback Stanford Samuels, offensive tackle Alex Barron and wide receiver Craphonso Thorpe were the five Seminoles named to the All-ACC first team on Monday. FSU and Georgia Tech had five first team selections each and NC State was next with four. The first team honorees will be recognized at the ACC Banquet on Monday, December 1st in Atlanta.

Dockett, a senior from Burtonsville, MD, received more votes than anyone on the first team defense. Dockett was a first team selection as a sophomore in 2002 and earned second team honors in 2001. Boulware was second team All-ACC last year as a junior while Samuels, Barron and Thorpe are making their first appearances.

Center David Castillo was voted to the All-ACC second team as was defensive end Eric Moore. Rover Jerome Carter and offensive guard Matt Meinrod were named honorable mention all-conference.

OFFENSE FIRST TEAM QB-Philip Rivers, N.C. State (126) RB-Chris Douglas, Duke (103) RB-P.J. Daniels, Georgia Tech (100) WR-Jerricho Cotchery, N.C. State (119) WR-Craphonso Thorpe, Florida St. (94) TE-Heath Miller, Virginia (109) OL-Alex Barron, Florida St. (105) OL-Sean Locklear, N.C. State (89) OL-C.J. Brooks, Maryland (83) OL-Tyson Clabo, Wake Forest (82) C-Hugh Reilly, Georgia Tech (74) PK-Nick Novak, Maryland (83) SP-Steve Suter, Maryland (47)

SECOND TEAM QB-Matt Schaub, Virginia (26) RB-Chris Barclay, Wake Forest (81) RB-Wali Lundy, Virginia (33) WR-Jonathan Smith, Georgia Tech (67) WR-Derrick Hamilton, Clemson (39) TE-Jeff Dugan, Maryland (29) OL-Mark Moroz, Wake Forest (77) OL-Gregory Walker, Clemson (71) OL-Elton Brown, Virginia (73) OL- Jeb Terry, North Carolina (49) C-David Castillo, Florida St. (42) PK-Connor Hughes, Virginia (81) SP-Derrick Hamilton, Clemson (44)

DEFENSE FIRST TEAM DL-Darnell Dockett, Florida St. (114) DL-Eric Henderson, Georgia Tech (102) DL-Randy Starks, Maryland (101) DL-Matt Zielinski, Duke (82) LB-Keyaron Fox, Georgia Tech (97) LB-Michael Boulware, Florida St. (96) LB-Leroy Hill, Clemson (90) DB-James Butler, Georgia Tech (91) DB-Stanford Samuels, Florida St. (84) DB-Eric King, Wake Forest (69) DB-Andre Maddox, N.C. State (64) P-Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest (117)

SECOND TEAM DL-Eric Moore, Florida St. (81) DL-Chris Canty, Virginia (72) DL-Kevin Eli, Maryland (63) DL-Donnell Washington, Clemson (61) LB-D'Qwell Jackson, Maryland (65) LB-Ryan Fowler, Duke (51) LB-Pat Thomas, N.C. State (44) DB- Dexter Reid, North Carolina (63) DB-Domonique Foxworth, Maryland (59) DB-Madieu Williams, Maryland (55) DB-Terrell Smith, Duke (48) P-Adam Podlesh, Maryland (49)

HONORABLE MENTION (20 or more points)

OFFENSE: Charlie Whitehurst, QB, Clemson (25); Jarwarski Pollock, WR, North Carolina, (26); Kevin Youngblood, WR, Clemson (22); J.P. Foschi, TE, Georgia Tech (25) T.J. Williams, TE, N.C. State (23); Matt Meinrod, OL, Florida St., (46); Cedric Johnson. OL, Clemson (21); Leroy Harris, OL, N.C. State (21); Willie McNeill, OL, North Carolina, (20); Kyle Schmitt, C, Maryland (31); Jed Paulsen, C, N.C. State (26).

DEFENSE: John McCargo, DL, N.C. State, (23); Travis Parker, DL, Georgia Tech (21); Darryl Blackstock, LB, Virginia (35); Daryl Smith, LB, Georgia Tech (31); John Leake, LB, Clemson (25); Justin Miller, DB, Clemson (45); Jamal Fudge, DB, Clemson (35); Curome Cox, DB (31), Maryland; Jerome Carter, DB, Florida St (29); Dennard Wilson, DB, Maryland (28); Jamaine Winborne, DB, Virginia (21); Michael Waddell, SP, North Carolina (41).

Related Articles