August 9, 2005 - by
Dzingai Advances to Quarterfinals at IAAF World Championships

Aug. 9, 2005


Helsinki, Finland – Running out of lane one in the 200m dash at the 10th International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) World Track and Field Championships, former Florida State Seminole Brian Dzingai (Harare, Zimbabwe/Truman State) advanced to the quarterfinals, posting a time of 20.76. The two-time All-America finished second in the second heat of competitors. The Zimbabwe national record holder will race at 1:15 p.m. on Wednesday, August 10, 2005.

Dzingai is one of six representatives from his native country of Zimbabwe. He is entered in the open 200m and is an alternate on the 4x400m relay. The 2004 Athens Olympian competed at the last IAAF World Championships in 2003 in the 200m. Dzingai has the 14th fastest 200m time in the world this year at 20.37, entering the meet, set at the Seminole Twilight in Tallahassee on May 7. He set his fastest overall 200m mark at the 2004 NCAA National Championships, where he earned All-America honors behind a 20.12, fifth-place performance.

Outgoing senior and Jamaican representative Dorian Scott (Springfield, N.J./Seton Hall Prep) finished 14th in group A in the shot put, throwing 60’1.5″ (18.33m) on Saturday, August 6, 2005. Rising senior Andrew Lemoncello (St. Andrews, Scotland) finished 14th in third section of the 3000m steeplechase on Monday, August 8, 2005. Representing Great Britain, the outdoor All-America finished the race in 8:40.29.


Schedule

200m
Aug. 9 13:50 EEST 6:50 a.m. (EST) Heats
Aug. 10 20:15 EEST 1:15 p.m. (EST) Semifinals
Aug. 12 21:35 EEST 2:35 p.m. (EST) Finals
Related Articles