June 17, 2014 - by
EJ Manuel named Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award candidate – Florida State University

EJ Manuel named Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award candidate – Florida State University


Rotating image8

EJ Manuel named Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award candidate

Courtesy of the ACC:

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award announced the 2012 candidates for its award
Thursday and five ACC quarterbacks were among its group of 15 signal callers
honored from around the nation, fully one-third of the eligible field. 

Honored from the
Atlantic Coast Conference were: Tajh Boyd, Clemson; EJ Manuel, Florida State;
Bryn Renner, North Carolina; Mike Glennon, NC State and Logan Thomas, Virginia

Named after the man many refer to as the greatest
quarterback ever to play the game of football, the prestigious Golden Arm Award
is presented annually by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation,
Inc. and Transamerica, a leading provider of innovative business and personal
financial services.

The Golden Arm Award encapsulates all that is positive in
college sports by going beyond completion percentage and touchdowns to also
value character, citizenship, integrity, and those who honor the game.
Established in 1987, the award previously has been presented to 25 outstanding
young men including Casey Weldon, Florida State (1991); Gino Torretta, Miami
(1992); Charlie Ward, Florida State (1993); Chris Weinke, Florida State (2000)
and Matt Ryan, Boston College (2007).

Candidates for
the Golden Arm Award must be completing their college eligibility or be a
fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class. Candidates are
judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership
qualities, and athletic accomplishments.
The 2012 winner will be
presented with his award on Friday, December 7 at The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel, Baltimore, Maryland.

The other honorees were: Matt Barkley, Southern California;
Nick Florence, Baylor; Landry Jones, Oklahoma; Collin Klein, Kansas State; AJ
McCarron, Alabama; Aaron Murray, Georgia; Denard Robinson, Michigan, Geno
Smith, West Virginia; Tyler Tettleton, Ohio; and Tyler Wilson, Arkansas.

FSU on YouTube

Related Articles