December 3, 2008 - by
Everette Brown Named Runner-Up For ACC Player Of The Year Honors

Dec. 3, 2008

Greensboro, N.C.  – Just how good was junior defensive end Everette Brown this season, good enough that he was named runner-up for ACC Player of the Year honors on Wednesday. The Stantonsburg, NC native finished second in the player of the year voting to Georgia Tech’s Jonathan Dwyer. Brown was also the runner-up for ACC Defensive Player of the Year honors behind Boston College’s Mark Herzlich.


Brown is currently third in the nation in sacks at 1.04 per game and his is fourth in the nation in tackles for loss at 1.71 per game. He is fifth in single season sacks in school history with 12.5 and his now second all-time at FSU with 45.5 career tackles for loss. In the history of the program only five players have more sacks in their career than Brown’s 22. He has been named a Walter Camp National Defensive Player of the Week and he is a two-time ACC Player of the Week.


Despite not winning the first ACC Player of the Year honor for a Seminole since Chris Weinke in 2000, Brown is still up for the Ted Hendricks Award.


2008 ACSMA/AP All-ACC Individual Awards

(67 Total Ballots)


OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR – Russell Wilson, NC State (62); Darren Evans, Virginia Tech (5)

DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR – Sean Spence, Miami (39); Brandon Maye, Clemson (11); Robert Quinn, North Carolina (8); Seven other players received votes

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR – Russell Wilson, NC State (62); Darren Evans, Virginia Tech (4); Sean Spence, Miami (1)

COACH OF THE YEAR – Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech (46); Jeff Jagodzinski, Boston College (12); David Cutcliffe, Duke (4); Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech (2); Butch Davis, North Carolina (2); Tom O’Brien, NC State (1)          

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR –Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech (42); Russell Wilson, NC State (11); Hakeem Nicks, North Carolina (6); C.J. Spiller, Clemson (6); Two other players received votes

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR (5 or more votes) – Mark Herzlich, Boston College (20); Everette Brown, Florida State (16); Michael Tauiliili, Duke (12); Aaron Curry, Wake Forest (7); Seven other players received votes

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech (30); Everette Brown, Florida State (9); Russell Wilson, NC State (8); Six other players received votes


Related Articles