August 20, 2002 - by
Five Seminoles Named To The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Men’s Swimming & Diving Team

Aug. 20, 2002

Atlantic Coast Conference commissioner John Swofford announced the 50th Anniversary Men’s Swimming and Diving Team on Tuesday. Five Seminole swimming greats, Rob Braknis, Brendon Dedekind, Stephen Parry, Brett Peterson and Julio Santos, were named to the 51-member team, which was voted on by the eight league institutions that sponsor the sport.

Dedekind (1996-99) graduated from FSU as the most decorated and accomplished swimmer in Seminole history. In 1999, he became the first Seminole to win two national championships after taking the 100-yard breaststroke title. His first title came in 1998 with the 50-freestyle. Dedekind also holds the school record for most individual All-America honors with eight and relay accolades with eight. In total, Dedekind won 10 ACC championships, including the 50-free all four years. In addition to his Seminole career, Dedekind represented South Africa in the Olympics, finishing fifth in the 50-free and 26th in the 100-free at the 1996 Atlanta Games and ninth in the 50-free at the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Parry (1996-99) has the honor of being the first Seminole to win a national title. In 1997, Parry took first-place honors in the 200-butterfly at the NCAA Championships. Parry earned individual All-America honors all four years in the 200-fly and three years in the 100-fly. He was also a five-time All-American in relays. In addition, Parry won ACC titles twice in the 200-fly and 200-free and once in the 200-backstroke. He left FSU holding school records in the 200-free, 100-back, 100-fly, 200-fly and 200-IM, which still stand today.

Braknis (1994-98) earned All-America honors in 1995 in the 200-back. He was also a two-time All-American on the 200 and 400 medley relay teams. Braknis won seven individual ACC titles, including four in the 100-back, two in the 200-back and one in the 50-free. He still holds the school record in the 200-back at 1:43.39.

Peterson (1997-2000) was a 1999 All-American in the 100-breast. In relays, he was a member of the 1998 200-medley and 1999 400-medley All-America squads. In 2000, Peterson joined Dedekind on the South African Olympic squad and placed seventh in the 100-breast at Sydney.

Santos (1997-99) earned six All-America honors during his FSU career. In 1998, he was a member of the 200- and 400-free and 200-medley All-America relay teams. In addition to his All-America honors in the 200- and 800-free relays in 1999, Santos earned his only individual honor for his performance in the 50-free. Santos also represented Ecuador at the 1996 and 2000 Olympics.

Related Articles