April 16, 2009 - by
Five Seminoles Take Home Awards at the 2008-09 FSU Women’s Basketball Awards Dinner


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State women’s basketball program officially closed a remarkably successful 2008-09 season Wednesday night with the annual awards dinner celebrating the year’s accomplishments.

FSU players, coaches, support staff, administrators and fans all gathered for dinner at the Alumni Center Ballroom to enjoy the festivities.


Senior guard Mara Freshour was rewarded for her stellar final season at FSU in which she became the new record-holder for most games played in a Seminole career. The Nashville, Ind. native led all players with four honors on the night as she was given the Top Academic Achiever Award, the Matt Schmauch Leadership Award, the All-Academic ACC Award and was one of three players to receive the Captains’ Award.


Fellow senior guard Tanae Davis-Cain and junior guard Angel Gray were also given the Captains’ Award.


Davis-Cain, who eclipsed 1,000 points and set the school record for most three-pointers made in a season and in a career this year, was given the Offensive MVP Award while the program’s new leader in blocked shots in a season and a career, Jacinta Monroe, nabbed the honor of Defensive MVP.


In addition to receiving the Captains’ Award, Gray was bestowed the honor of receiving the Ronalda Pierce Heart Award.


Sophomore guard Christian Hunnicutt rounded out the honors as she was recognized for her dedicated work off the basketball court with the Community Service Award.


The 2008-09 may be over but it won’t soon be forgotten.


This season, the Seminoles finished tied with Maryland for most wins in the Atlantic Coast Conference with 12 and went to a school-record fifth-straight NCAA Tournament.


As the highest tournament seed in FSU history at No. 3, FSU defeated N.C. A&T in the first round of the NCAA Tournament to give head coach Sue Semrau her 27th victory of the season and most in a season in her career.


The Seminoles finished the season ranked No. 18 in the ESPN/USA Today poll after earning the highest national ranking in school history at No. 11 AP and No. 12 ESPN/USA Today earlier in the year.




Community Service Award – Christian Hunnicutt


Top Academic Achiever – Mara Freshour


Captains’ Award – Mara Freshour, Tanae Davis-Cain, Angel Gray


Defensive MVP – Jacinta Monroe


Offensive MVP – Tanae Davis-Cain


Matt Schmauch Leadership Award – Mara Freshour


All-Academic ACC – Mara Freshour


Ronalda Pierce Heart Award – Angel Gray

Related Articles