September 1, 2004 - by

Sept. 1, 2004

Tallahassee, Fla. –
Florida State’s 27th Annual Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place Friday, September 17th, at the University Center Club on the FSU campus. The 2004 class includes consensus All-America football players Peter Boulware and Andre Wadsworth, former basketball star Sam Cassell, Olympic swimmer Brendon Dedekind and four time All-American high jumper Holly Kelly-Thompson. The prestigious Moore-Stone Award for outstanding contributions to FSU Athletics will be presented to Jim Smith.

Boulware was named All-ACC and the National Defensive Player of the Year following his junior season in 1996. He broke Ron Simmon’s school record for quarterback sacks that had stood since 1977 with 19 in 1996. The Columbia, South Carolina native was selected with the fourth overall pick in the first round of the 1997 NFL draft by the Baltimore Ravens. In seven seasons at the professional level, Boulware has made three Pro Bowl appearances and won a Super Bowl ring in 2001 as a world champion.

Defensive end Andrew Wadsworth’s came to FSU was a walk-on and finished his career in 1997 as the highest NFL draft pick in Seminole history when Arizona picked him with the third overall selection. Wadsworth was a finalist for both the Lombardi and Outland Awards as a senior in 1997 and was named the ACC Player of the Year. He was a consensus All-American and was named national defensive player of the year by CBS Sportsline and one of the 30 Greatest ACC Players by College Football News.

One of the most popular basketball players in FSU history, Sam Cassell led the Seminoles to the NCAA Sweet Sixteen in 1992 and Elite Eight in 1993. As a senior, he set a single-season record of 97 steals and dished out 170 assists. He averaged over 18 points, nearly five assists, 4.3 rebounds and over two steals per game. Cassell was named All-ACC Second Team twice and ranked among the top 20 scorers in school history although he played just two seasons. The 6-foot-3 guard was drafted 24th overall by Houston Rockets in the 1993 NBA draft. He helped lead Houston to back-to-back NBA Championships and was voted an all-star with the Minnesota Timberwolves this past season.

Brendon Dedekind, a native of South Africa, was a member of his country’s 1996 Olympic team where he qualified for the finals of the 50 free and finished fifth. Dedekind qualified for the 50 and 100-free and the 100-breaststroke at the 1997 NCAA Championships then became the first swimmer in FSU history to win All-America honors in three events in the same year with his top-five finishes in each event. Dedekind’s international accolades include winning a gold medal at the Goodwill Games and Pan Pacific Swimming Championships. He completed his FSU career as the only Seminole to ever reach the finals of three individual events at one NCAA championship and the only FSU swimmer to ever finish among the Top 10 individual scorers.

High jumper Holly Kelly-Thompson was one of the finest competitor’s in the history of FSU track and field and her school record still stands today. She was a four-time All-American and a four-time Metro Conference Champion. Kelly-Thompson was also a member of the US Olympic Festival team and competed in three Olympic trials.

The Moore-Stone Award will be presented to former Secretary of State and Attorney General for the State of Florida Jim Smith. A long-time supporter of Florida State and higher education in the state, Smith is currently Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees at FSU. He played a major role in fund raising efforts to bring in a new football coach in 1976 who turned out to be Bobby Bowden.

Tickets for the banquet are now on sale and can be purchased by calling 850-893-6108 or by e-mail at A reception will begin at 6 pm followed by the banquet at 7 pm that will be held in the ballroom of the University Club. Ticket prices are $75.

Related Articles