December 2, 2013 - by
Florida State Collects 17 All-ACC Selections

Dec. 2, 2013

picture name

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The No. 1-ranked Florida State football team led the league with 17 selections as the 2013 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Team was announced on Monday by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

The Seminoles placed seven members on the first team, which is voted on by 65 ACSMA members.

Redshirt freshman quarterback Jameis Winston, who ranks first in the country in pass efficiency (192.6) and leads the ACC in passing yardage (3,490) and touchdown passes (35) was named to the First Team on 61 ballots.

Joining Winston on the first team offense were ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner redshirt junior left tackle Cameron Erving, redshirt senior center Bryan Stork, junior right guard Tre’ Jackson, junior wide receiver Rashad Greene and junior running back Devonta Freeman.

Erving, Stork and Jackson make up three-fifths of the nation’s top offensive line that has helped Florida State shatter the ACC record for points (644) and touchdowns (84) in a season, while ranking second in the nation in scoring offense (53.7) and seventh in total offense (526.1).

Greene leads Florida State in receptions (61) and yards (914), and is fourth in the ACC with nine touchdown catches.

Freeman leads Florida State in rushing yards (852) and touchdowns (13). He is averaging 5.9 yards per carry and is also a threat as a receiver with 18 catches for 235 yards.

Senior cornerback Lamarcus Joyner was the only Seminole defender to make the First Team. The Fort Lauderdale, Fla., native leads Florida State in sacks (5.0) and forced fumbles (three) and is second on the team in tackles (60). He is the leader of the nation’s first-ranked pass defense, as FSU allows only 153.0 yards per game. He nabbed First Team honors for the second straight season.

Boston College running back Andre Williams amassed a team-high 195 points with his unanimous first-team selection (three points for each first-team vote, two points for each second-team vote and one-point for each third-team vote). Clemson’s Sammy Watkins and Winston had 191 points apiece. The closest vote came at the placekicker position, where Boston College’s Nate Freese earned first-team honors with 124 points, one ahead of FSU redshirt freshman Roberto Aguayo’s 123.

Aguayo, who is on pace to set the national single-season record for kick scoring, headlines the group of Seminoles on the All-ACC Second Team.

Joining Aguayo on the Second Team were junior tight end and Mackey Award finalist Nick O’Leary, senior linebackers Telvin Smith and Christian Jones, junior nose guard Timmy Jernigan and senior safety Terrence Brooks.

Collecting All-ACC Third Team accolades were redshirt sophomore wide receiver Kelvin Benjamin, who leads the ACC with 12 touchdown receptions, junior left guard Josue Matias, sophomore defensive end Mario Edwards, Jr. and freshman safety Nate Andrews.

Seminoles earning honorable mention honors were junior running back James Wilder, Jr., senior wide receiver Kenny Shaw, junior right tackle Bobby Hart, redshirt sophomore linebacker Terrance Smith and sophomore cornerback P.J. Williams.

Related Articles