February 7, 2008 - by
Florida State Freshman Plays in First Pro Tournament

Feb. 7, 2008

Delray Beach, Fla.–The annual Florida State – Florida match-up coming up on Saturday won’t be the only big tennis match on the mind of Seminole freshman Clint Bowles this week.

After he and the 6-0 Seminoles play the Gators, Bowles will head to Delray Beach Fla. to play in his first pro event–the Delray Beach International Tennis Championships that are coming up February 11-17 at the Delray Beach Stadium & Tennis Center.

When Bowles won the USTA Boys’ 18 Clay Court National Championship last July in Delray Beach, a trophy was not all that came with the win. A wild card into the 16th annual ATP event was the biggest prize of all.

Now the 19-year-old Bowles is less than a week away from the first ATP appearance of his career. “My first ATP event will give me an opportunity to see what it’s like playing at that level,” said Bowles, the lone amateur in the 32-players field. “I’m sure I’ll be nervous when I walk on the court but I’ll play my game and see what happens.”

The only true freshman on the Florida State roster, Bowles is playing the No. 3 position for the 14th-ranked Seminoles. He is ranked No. 77 individually in the collegiate polls.

The USTA Clay Court National Championships were held in Delray Beach last summer for the first time; it was also the first time the champion was awarded a wild card into the ATP event. The Delray Beach ITC is permitted three wild cards among its draw of professional players. Wild cards can be awarded to amateur or professional players.

Tickets to the tournament can be purchased by calling 561-330-6000 or by logging on to www.YellowTennisBall.com.

Other information can be found on MySpace, Facebook and Bebo: delraybeachITC or AIM:Yellow10sball.

Here is the complete entry list for the Delray Beach ITC:

Benjamin Becker (GER), James Blake (USA), Clint Bowles (USA), Paul Capdeville (CHI), Juan Martin Del Potro, Alejandro Falla (COL), Mardy Fish (USA), Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (ESP), Denis Gremelmayr (GER), Tommy Haas (GER), Victor Hanescu (ROU), Diego Hartfield (ARG), John Isner (USA), Robert Kendrick (USA), Igor Kunitsyn (RUS), Xavier Malisse (BEL), Florian Mayer (GER), Gilles Muller (LUX), Sam Querrey (USA), Bobby Reynolds (USA), Michael Russell (USA), Yuri Schukin (RUS), Dudi Sela (ISR), Florent Serra (FRA), Vince Spadea (USA), Donald Young (USA).

Related Articles