April 15, 2009 - by
Florida State Men’s Golf Team Travels To Defend ACC Championship

April 15, 2009

ACC Championship Notes Get Acrobat Reader

The Florida State men’s golf team, which won the first ever ACC golf championship in school history in 2008, returns to the Old North State Club at Uwharrie Point in New London, N.C., April 17-19 to defend its championship and will look to become the first team since Georgia Tech in 2006 and 2007 to repeat as ACC men’s golf champions. The Yellow Jackets were the co-champions in both 2006-07. The last team to repeat as outright champions was Clemson in 2003 and 2004.

No. 20 Florida State is joined by No. 6 Clemson, No. 9 Georgia Tech, No. 21 NC State, No. 26 Wake Forest, Boston College, Duke, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia and Virginia Tech in the 56th Annual ACC Championship at the Old North State Club at Uwharrie Point in New London, N.C. The ACC Championship is being played at the Old North State Club for the 13th time in the history of the event.

Click to Play

Florida State won the 2008 ACC Men’s Golf Championship to mark the first time the Seminoles had finished higher than third in the championship since joining the league for the 1991-92 academic year. The Seminoles finished third in the 1994 ACC Championship, fourth in the 1996 event and tied for fourth in 2007 for its three best finishes since joining the conference prior to claiming the championship last season. The Seminoles participated in their first ACC Tournament in 1992 and this season will mark their 18th ACC tournament as a member of the conference. Jonas Blixt (medalist, 208 score in 2007), Bobby Cochran (second place, 212 score in 1994), Christian Raynor (second place, 211 score in 1995) and George McNeil (second place, 212 score in 1996) have earned the top individual finishes for the Seminoles during ACC Championship play.

Florida State, led by All-America teammates Jonas Blixt and Matt Savage, won its first ever ACC championship as it defeated Duke by three strokes at the 55th Annual ACC Championship at the Old North State Club at Uwharrie Point on April 20, 2008. The Seminoles defeated the Blue Devils by four stokes in the third round as they rallied from a one stroke deficit after two rounds. The Seminoles’ overcame Duke and the weather to win the conference championship. Before they moved passed the Blue Devils in the team standings, the Seminoles waited through a 2:18 rain delay that not only stopped play but dumped a tremendous amount of rain on the course. Following the rain delay, the Seminoles went to work on the course and the Blue Devils. The Seminoles closed the 54-hole tournament with four players under par and only one at over par. Blixt And Savage led the way with eight-under par 208 scores as they both finished in a tie for third in the individual standings. Drew Kittleson finished in a tie for sixth place with a six-under par score of 210. Seath Lauer finished in a tie for 13th place with a two-under par score of 212 and Cameron Knight finished in a tie for 42nd with a score of 223.

Florida State’s line-up at the 2009 ACC Championship (Drew Kittleson, Matt Savage, Brooks Koepka, Cameron Knight and Seath Lauer) will look very similar to the lineup the Seminoles’ utilized in winning the 2008 ACC Championship (Jonas Blixt, Savage, Kittleson, Lauer, Knight). The Seminoles’ starting line-up has played in a cumulative total of nine ACC Championships and has earned a cumulative total of six top-25 ACC finishes: Kittleson (one), Knight (one), Lauer (one) and Savage (three).

Sophomore Drew Kittleson shot a two-round total of 150 (78-72) as he represented Florida State University and the ACC at the 2009 Master’s Championship at Augusta National last week. After carding a 78 in the first round he carded an even par 72 with a pair of eagles in the second round. Kittleson’s total of 150 left him five shots from making the cut despite carding two birdies and two eagles in his second round. Kittleson’s round of 72 on Friday was tied for the 27th best round of all of the players in the event and tied him with Tiger Woods.

Sophomore Drew Kittleson is a total of two strokes over par in his five tournaments for the Seminoles this spring. He is even par in his last four events after finishing the Hawaii Hilo Invitational at two strokes over par. Additionally, he has earned five consecutive top 15 individual finishes and seven top-25 finishes in eight events this year. Kittleson is averaging a team leading 70.00 strokes in 16 rounds during eight tournaments this spring and is the Seminoles’ leader with a 72.04 stroke average in 22 rounds during eight events.

Senior All-American Matt Savage, who finished in a tie for third place in leading the Seminoles to the 2008 ACC Men’s Golf Championship, will play in his fourth career ACC Championship this week at the Old North State Club. Savage is a cumulative total of -9 under par in his first three ACC Championships and has earned a pair of top-12 finishes.

Related Articles