May 3, 2004 - by
Florida State Selected To Host 2004 NCAA Softball Regional

May 3, 2004

Indianapolis, IN –
Eight regional sites have been selected for the 2004 NCAA Division I Softball Championship and were announced today by the NCAA Division I Softball Committee. For the third time in four seasons Florida State University was selected as an NCAA Regional site. The second-ranked Seminoles will welcome seven teams to Tallahassee for regional play that is scheduled to begin Thursday, May 20.

“This is really a credit to our administration and all the support staff that worked so hard to make our past regionals first class events,” said head coach Dr. JoAnne Graf. “It is an honor to host an NCAA Regional and we are appreciative that the NCAA felt we did such a good job that they could trust us to host for the third time in the last four years.”

The eight regional sites, with host institutions are as follows: Tucson, Arizona (University of Arizona); Waco, Texas (Baylor University); Los Angeles (University of California, Los Angeles); Tallahassee, Florida (Florida State University); Athens, Georgia (University of Georgia); Ann Arbor, Michigan (University of Michigan); Lincoln, Nebraska (University of Nebraska, Lincoln); and Stanford, California (Stanford University).

Each regional field will feature eight teams, playing a double-elimination format. All regional games are scheduled to be conducted Thursday, May 20, through Sunday, May 23.

Site selections were based on geographic location, quality of facilities and quality of the experience for the student-athletes, including attendance history. Host institutions are not guaranteed a bid to the tournament.

The at-large teams, top-eight national seeds and first-round regional pairings will be announced Sunday, May 16, between 8 and 9 p.m. Eastern time, live on ESPNews. The bracket will not be reseeded prior to the Women’s College World Series.

Twenty-six Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 38 at-large selections.

The 23rd Women’s College World Series begins play Thursday, May 27, at Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City. All of the games will be broadcast live on ESPN or ESPN2 (except game 14), and the television schedule, as well as more information on the championship, is available at Also, ESPN will air three regional games live from the UCLA site and CSTV will air up to five games live from the Arizona site. Check the Web site for updated broadcast times and television information.

Related Articles