May 26, 2013 - by
Florida State Selected to Host NCAA Regional

May 26, 2013

NCAA Tournament Central

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced 16 regional sites for the 67th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. Florida State University was selected as a regional host for the 30th time in school history. The four-team regional will begin on Friday, May 31 on Mike Martin Field inside Dick Howser Stadium.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows: Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (52-9); Blacksburg, Virginia – Virginia Tech (38-20); Bloomington, Indiana – Indiana (43-14); Chapel Hill, North Carolina – North Carolina (52-8); Charlottesville, Virginia – Virginia (47-10); Corvallis, Oregon – Oregon State (45-10); Columbia, South Carolina – South Carolina (39-18); Eugene, Oregon – Oregon (45-14); Fullerton, California – Cal State Fullerton (48-8); Los Angeles, California – UCLA (38-17); Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (46-10); Manhattan, Kansas – Kansas St. (41-17); Nashville, Tennessee – Vanderbilt (51-9); Raleigh, North Carolina – North Carolina State (44-14); Starkville, Mississippi – Mississippi State (43-17); Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (44-15).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field. Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 31 to Monday, June 3.

Two institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 30 and LSU with 21. South Carolina is hosting for the 15th time. Mississippi St. (12th) and Cal State Fullerton (11th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

North Carolina is hosting for the seventh time, while Virginia is hosting a regional for the sixth time and UCLA is hosting for the fifth time. North Carolina State and Oregon State are hosting for the fourth time, while Louisville and Vanderbilt for the third time. Rounding out the list and hosting for the first time are Indiana, Kansas St., and Virginia Tech.

Seven institutions (Florida State, LSU, North Carolina, North Carolina State, South Carolina, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2012.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at Noon (ET), Monday, May 27. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 3 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET). There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 67th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Tickets for the 2013 NCAA Baseball Tallahassee Regional will go on sale to the public at 5pm EST on Monday, May 27 at Phone and walk-up orders begin at 8:30am on Tuesday morning by calling 888-378-6653 or visiting the main Seminole Ticket Office located at Doak Campbell Stadium.

Atlantic Coast – 5 (Florida State, North Carolina, NC State, Virginia, Virginia Tech)
Southeastern – 4 (LSU, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Vanderbilt)
Pacific-12 – 3 (Oregon, Oregon State, UCLA)
Big East – 1 (Louisville)
Big 12 – 1 (Kansas State)
Big Ten – 1 (Indiana)
Big West – 1 (Cal State Fullerton)

– courtesy of


Related Articles