May 27, 2012 - by
Florida State Selected To Host Regionals

May 27, 2012

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. ( – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced 16 regional sites for the 66th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. Florida State University was selected as a regional host for the 29th time in school history. The four-team regional will begin on Friday, June 1 on Mike Martin Field inside Dick Howser Stadium.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows: Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (43-16); Chapel Hill, North Carolina – North Carolina (44-14); Charlottesville, Virginia – Virginia (38-17); College Station, Texas – Texas A&M (42-16); Columbia, South Carolina – South Carolina (40-17); Coral Gables, Florida – Miami (FL) (36-20); Eugene, Oregon – Oregon (42-16); Gainesville, Florida – Florida (42-18); Gary, Indiana – Purdue (44-12); Houston, Texas – Rice (40-17); Los Angeles, California – UCLA (41-14); Palo Alto, California – Stanford (37-16); Raleigh, North Carolina – North Carolina State (39-17); Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (43-15); Tucson, Arizona – Arizona (37-17); Waco, Texas – Baylor (44-14).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 1 to Monday, June 4.

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 29, Miami (FL) with 24, and LSU is hosting a regional for a 20th time. Stanford is hosting for the 15th time and South Carolina is hosting for the 14th time. Florida (11th) and Rice (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Texas A&M is hosting for the ninth time, while North Carolina is hosting a regional for the seventh time and Virginia for the sixth time. Arizona is hosting for the fifth time, Baylor and UCLA are hosting for a fourth time, and North Carolina St. for a third time. Rounding out the list and hosting for the first time are Purdue and Oregon.

Due to stadium construction issues, the regional hosted by Purdue will be played at U.S. Steel Yard in Gary, Indiana.

Eight institutions (Florida, Florida St., North Carolina, Rice, Texas A&M, South Carolina, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2011.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at Noon (ET), Monday, May 28. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 4 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 66th Men’s College World Series begins play Friday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Atlantic Coast – 5 (Florida State, Miami (FL), North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia)
Pacific-12 – 4 (Arizona, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA)
Southeastern – 3 (Florida, South Carolina, LSU)
Big 12 – 2 (Baylor, Texas A&M)
Big Ten – 1 (Purdue)
Conference USA – 1 (Rice)
– courtesy of


Related Articles