May 24, 2012 - by
Florida State Softball Team Awards Announced

May 24, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – The team awards for the Florida State University softball team were announced by head coach Lonni Alameda at its season-ending banquet located at the Varsity Club on the fourth floor inside the Coyle E. Moore Athletics Center.

Headlining the list of award winners was most valuable player Tiffani Brown and circle award winner Monica Perry, with both elevating the team’s level of play throughout the season. Brown, a Tallahassee resident, finished her junior campaign with a .301 batting average and stole 43 bases, which currently ranks eighth nationally on a per-game basis. Brown also finished with the highest fielding percentage among the team’s everyday infielders and outfielders, committing just four errors in 193 chances for a .980 fielding percentage.

Brown also was awarded the Chief Abiaka award for perseverance, which was presented by Assistant Athletic Trainer Eunice Hernandez.

Perry’s redshirt junior season was an outstanding one, leading the Seminoles with 22 victories, 14 complete games, 191 innings pitched and 199 strikeouts. Perry earned victories in all four of FSU’s nationally-ranked wins this season against UCLA, North Carolina (twice) and LSU. The Whitesburg, Ga., native allowed just one earned run in 20 innings pitched in her three appearances at last week’s UCLA Regionals versus San Diego State and UCLA.

At the time of the awards, Brown and centerfielder Courtney Senas were awarded with the batting title after leading the team with .305 batting averages going into the NCAA postseason. Shayla Jackson ended her career with the team’s highest batting average in 2012, hitting .304.

Third baseman Briana Hamilton took home two honors, being awarded the Gold Glove Award for her strong play at the hot corner. She also joined outfielder Kirstin Austin as Co-Most Improved Players after both saw a nice rise in their batting averages.

Other award winners include Lacey Waldrop and Maddie O’Brien as Co-Rookies of the Year, Amber Bryant and Mallory Borden as Co-Coaches award recipients, Kelly Hensley as the team’s Ah-Tah-thi-ki-award winner for academics and Lindsey Peppers as the team’s Seminole Warrior award recipient for her excellence in strength and conditioning.

The annual ESPY award for top defensively play was won by Senas, who made a tremendous diving catch in centerfield in FSU’s game at USF on March 18.

The Seminoles finished with a 47-16 overall record in 2012, their most wins in a season since 2004. FSU regained its status as a Top 25 contender, spending 13 straight weeks in the Softball Collegiate Poll in 2012.

Related Articles