February 5, 2008 - by
Florida State Tabbed To Win Atlantic Division Title

Feb. 5, 2008

Greensboro, N.C. – Looking to build off last year’s divisional title and school record 24-6 mark in league play, the Florida State Seminoles were selected to repeat as Atlantic Coast Conference Atlantic Division Champions in 2007 as determined by a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches. Defending ACC champion North Carolina was picked to repeat as the league champion in 2008 as well as capture its third straight Coastal Division crown.

The Seminoles return five position starters and five pitchers who saw action off the mound in 2007 including a pair of starting pitchers in senior Ryan Strauss and junior Bo O’Dell. In all, the Seminoles welcome back 13 of 31 letterwinners for the upcoming season. Florida State will start the season ranked 12th by Collegiate Baseball and 13th by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, while Buster Posey and Jack Rye were named Preseason All-Americans.

Three of the top four hitters from last year’s squad that recorded the highest team batting average in school history are back for the Garnet and Gold in 2008. Posey, Rye and Jason Stidham ranked two, three and four, respectively, in hitting last year.

Florida State garnered 66 points including seven first place votes. The Seminoles also received two votes to capture the ACC Championship which will be held at the Baseball Grounds in Jacksonville, Fla. The tournament will be played in a round-robin format for the second year in a row May 21-25.

“We are very excited to be picked to finish first in the Atlantic Division as we approach the season opener,” said head coach Mike Martin. “But at the same time we know that there is still a lot of work that needs to be accomplished before any of this can happen.”

With 67 points and nine first-place votes, North Carolina garnered the top spot in the Coastal Division. In 2007, UNC returned to the College World Series for the second year in a row but later fell to defending champion Oregon State in the first two games of the championship series. The Tar Heels posted an overall record of 57-16 including a 21-9 record in the ACC last year.

2008 marks the third year of divisional play in the ACC, as the Atlantic Division has produced two different winners in Clemson (2006) and Florida State (2007). North Carolina has laid claim to both Coastal titles. Last year, the Seminoles were picked to finish second in the Atlantic Division.

Below is a listing of the preseason coaches’ poll by divisions with 2007 records.

ACC Overall Champion
North Carolina – 7
Florida State – 2
Miami – 2
Virginia – 1

Atlantic Division
School, Points, Record
1. Florida State (7), 66, 49-13, 24-6 ACC
2. Clemson (4), 61, 41-23, 18-12 ACC
3. NC State (1), 45, 38-23, 16-14 ACC
4. Wake Forest, 44, 34-29, 14-16 ACC
5. Boston College, 20, 24-27, 12-17 ACC
6. Maryland, 16, 26-30, 7-23 ACC

Coastal Division
School, Points, Record
1. North Carolina (9), 67, 57-16, 21-9 ACC
2. Miami (2), 59, 37-24, 17-13 ACC
3. Virginia (1), 52, 45-16, 19-9 ACC
4. Georgia Tech, 37, 32-25, 15-14 ACC
5. Virginia Tech, 23, 23-31, 7-23 ACC
6. Duke, 14, 29-25, 8-22 ACC
(#) denotes first place divisional votes

Related Articles