April 22, 2000 - by
Florida State Women Capture Team Title At ACC Track Championships

April 22, 2000

Box Score

DURHAM, N.C. — The Florida State women’s track and field team turned
in one of the best performances in school history on Saturday by taking
home its first ACC title. The Lady Seminoles were victorious in the final
event of the day, the 4×400 meters, to edge out Friday’s leader North
Carolina for the ACC crown.

The forces behind the unprecedented achievement were senior
standouts Tonya Carter and Samantha George, who captured two titles a
piece. Carter continued to set new records in her final year of competition
by eclipsing the previous ACC record in the 100 meters with a time of 11.31
seconds. She went on to take home the 200m crown as well with a time of
23.63 seconds. George extended her winning ways by finishing first in both
the 400 meters (52.28 seconds) and the 800 meters (2:02.81). Lakeisha Mose
(hammer throw), Makiba Batten (shot put), and Chinette Johnson (heptathlon)
all turned in strong performances by contributing individual titles. The
success of the relay teams sealed the title for the Seminoles as both the
4×100 meter and 4×400 meter units placed first.

Also contributing to the win for the Lady Seminoles was sophomore
Nakeya Crutchfield, who finished second to Carter in both the 100m and 200m
dashes. FSU senior Shannon Steele finished third in the javelin throw,
freshman Kim Jones took fifth in the 100m low hurdles and junior Tangela
Wobbleton placed fourth in the 400m run. Mose, Batten and Johnson were
also able to contribute points to the team outside of their title winning
events. Batten placed second in the discus and Mose took second to Batten
in the shot put. Johnson was able to rack up additional points in the 400m
hurdles (6th) and the high jump (4th). Friday’s contributors included the
senior pole vaulters Nikki Allen and Lindsay Adkins-Osborn. Osborn
finished in third place while Allen wrapped up fifth place.

The men’s team enjoyed a solid showing as well by finishing up in
second place in the standings. Junior Joe Allen recorded the sole
individual title for the men by placing first in the long jump event.
Maarten van den Heuvel (800 meters) and Allen (triple jump) both
contributed second-place points while Mario Lowe (triple jump) added a
third-place finish. The men’s 4×400 meter relay posted a victory over
Georgia Tech to add another Seminole team title.

Other notables for the Seminoles included Zach Heissner, Iain
Harnden, Steve Augustine, Jeff Atkinson, Patrick Gerberich, Christian
Bland and Gary Visser. Heissner placed fifth in the 3,000m Steeplechase
and Harnden took home a fourth and fifth place finish in the 110m and 400m
hurdles. Augustine ran fourth in the 400m hurdles and Bland tied for third
in the high jump. Atkinson, Gerberich and Visser represented the Noles
with fourth, fifth and sixth place finishes in the pole vault.

The Seminoles will travel to Philadelphia, Pa., to compete in the
Penn Relays, April 27-29.

Final ACC Men’s Team Scores

1. Clemson           179.33
2. Florida State     132
3. NC State          117
4. North Carolina    111
5. Georgia Tech       81.67
6. Wake Forest        81
7. Duke               45
8. Virginia           44
9. Maryland           21

2000 ACC Men’s Indiv. Champions

100 Meters – Shawn Crawford, Clemson

200 Meters – Shawn Crawford, Clemson

400 Meters – Tyrone Dozier, NC State

800 Meters – Brendon Mahoney, Georgia Tech

1,500 Meters – Brendon Fitzgibbon, Duke

3,000 M Steeplechase – Chris Dugan, NC State

5,000 Meters – Chan Pons, NC State

10,000 Meters – Chan Pons, NC State

110 M Hurdles – Todd Matthews, Clemson

400 M Hurdles – Fred Sharpe, Clemson

4×100 M Relay – Clemson

4×400 M Relay – Florida State

High Jump – Malcolm Reynolds, Clemson

Long Jump – Joe Allen, Florida State

Triple Jump – Malcolm Leason, Georgia Tech

Shot Put – Ian Douglas, North Carolina

Discus – Sal Gigante, North Carolina

Hammer – Isaiah Oglesby, NC State

Javelin – Brian Kollar, Virginia

Pole Vault – Ryan Lewis, Clemson

Decathlon – Andy Geisler, Clemson

Final ACC Women’s Team Scores

1. Florida State   192
2. North Carolina  183
3. Maryland         86.50
4. Virginia         86
5. NC State         60.50
6. Georgia Tech     60
7. Clemson          57
8. Wake Forest      54
9. Duke             39

2000 ACC Women’s Indiv. Champions

100 Meters – Tonya Carter, Florida State

200 Meters – Tonya Carter, Florida State

400 Meters – Samantha George, Florida State

800 Meters – Samantha George, Florida State

1,500 Meters – Jill Snyder, Wake Forest

3,000 Meters – Janelle Kraus, Wake Forest

5,000 Meters – Janelle Kraus, Wake Forest

10,000 Meters – Lindsey Rogers, NC State

100 M Hurdles – Lutisha Shittu, North Carolina

400 M Hurdles – DeAnne Davis, North Carolina

4×100 Relay – Florida State

4×400 Relay – Florida State

High Jump – Vanessa Jones, Maryland

Long Jump – Ola Sesay, North Carolina

Triple Jump – DeAnne Davis, North Carolina

Discus – Jill Pedretti, North Carolina

Pole Vault – Jillian Schwartz, Duke

Shot Put – Makiba Batten, Florida State

Hammer Throw – Lakeisha Mose, Florida State

Javelin – Inge Jorgenson, Virginia

Heptathlon – Chinette Johnson, Florida State

Related Articles