August 20, 2009 - by
Florida State’s Monroe Named To Wooden Watch List

Aug. 20, 2009

Florida State’s Jacinta Monroe was named a candidate for the Women’s John R. Wooden Award on Thursday as announced by Richard “Duke” Llewellyn, John R. Wooden Award Chairman and founder. Monroe was an All-Atlantic Coast Conference Second Team and All-Defensive Team pick last season and is one of three ACC players on the initial list.

Monroe led the Seminoles in scoring and rebounding a year ago when the rising senior poured in 13.1 points and 7.4 rebounds en route to All-ACC honors. The Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., native becomes the first Seminole since the award’s inception in 2003 to be named to the preseason list.

In late December, the Wooden Award Committee will release the Midseason Top 20 list, followed in March by the National Ballot, consisting of approximately 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Women’s Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round during the NCAA Tournament.

The list contains 31 players, not the traditional 30, because the playing status of North Carolina’s Jessica Breland is uncertain due to a possible medical redshirt year. Transfers, freshmen and 2009 medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December’s midseason list and the official ballot released in March.

2009-10 John R. Wooden Award
Women’s Preseason Top 30 List

Name	                Height	Class	Pos.	University	Conference
Jayne Appel 6-4 Sr. F/C Stanford Pac-10
Erica Beverly 6-0 Sr. F Hartford America East
Angie Bjorklund 6-0 Jr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Heather Bowman 6-2 Sr. F Gonzaga West Coast
Jessica Breland* 6-3 Sr. F North Carolina ACC
Tina Charles 6-4 Sr. C Connecticut Big East
Alysha Clark 5-10 Sr. F Middle Tenn. Sun Belt
Allyssa DeHaan 6-9 Sr. C Michigan State Big Ten
Tyra Grant 5-11 Sr. G Penn State Big Ten
Alexis Gray-Lawson 5-8 Sr. G California Pac-10
Allison Hightower 5-10 Sr. G Louisiana State SEC
Ashley Houts 5-6 Sr. G Georgia SEC
Ify Ibekwe 6-1 Jr. F Arizona Pac-10
Jantel Lavender 6-4 Jr. C Ohio State Big Ten
Gabriela Marginean 6-1 Sr. F Drexel CAA
Danielle McCray 5-11 Sr. G/F Kansas Big 12
Nicole Michael 6-2 Sr. F Syracuse Big East
Jacinta Monroe 6-4 Sr. F/C Florida State ACC

Maya Moore #$ 6-0 Jr. F Connecticut Big East
Jené Morris 5-9 Sr. G San Diego State Mountain West
Dierdre Naughton 5-10 Sr. G DePaul Big East
Ta`Shia Phillips 6-6 Jr. C Xavier Atlantic 10
Jeanette Pohlen 6-0 Jr. G Stanford Pac-10
Samantha Prahalis 5-7 So. G Ohio State Big Ten
Andrea Riley 5-5 Sr. G Oklahoma State Big 12
Danielle Robinson 5-9 Jr. G Oklahoma Big 12
Jenna Smith 6-3 Sr. C Illinois Big Ten
Ashley Sweat 6-2 Sr. F Kansas State Big 12
Carolyn Swords 6-6 Jr. C Boston College ACC
Courtney Vandersloot 5-8 Jr. G Gonzaga West Coast
Monica Wright 5-11 Sr. G Virginia ACC
Related Articles