June 21, 1999 - by
Football Coaching Staff Selects Spring Award Winners

April 9, 1999

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The Florida State coaching staff announced
today the award winners for the Seminoles’ spring football practice. The
most valuable offensive and defensive players and the Hinesman Award will
be announced during Saturday’s spring scrimmage.

                        Most Improved       Most Dependable
Quarterbacks            Jared Jones         Marcus Outzen
Receivers               Laveranues Coles    Ron Dugans
Offensive Line          Justin Amman        Eric Thomas
Running Backs           William McCray      William McCray
Tight Ends              Ryan Sprague        Nick Franklin
Linebackers             Theon Rackley       Brian Allen/ 
                                              Tommy Polley
Defensive Backs         Clevan Thomas/      Derrick Gibson
                          Reggie Durden
Defensive Line          Chris Woods         Roland Seymour/ 
                                              Chris Walker
                        OFFENSE             DEFENSE
King of the Boards      Donald Heaven       Jamal Reynolds
Most Valuable Non-
  Scholarship Player    Chad Maeder         Randy Wilkins
Leadership              Peter Warrick       Mario Edwards
Big Otis Award          Jeff Chaney         Jamal Reynolds
Second Effort Award     Jeff Chaney         Sean Key/ 
                                              Bobby Rhodes
Top Newcomer            Brett Williams      Chris Woods
Big Hitter              Chad Maeder         Bradley Jennings

Related Articles