May 7, 2008 - by
Four Seminoles earn All-ACC honors

May 7, 2008

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – The third-seeded Florida State softball team attended the annual ACC Championship banquet hosted by the University of Maryland in the Comcast Center on Wednesday night where the 2008 All-ACC team and yearly awards were announced. Sophomore Carly Wynn earned first-team honors while seniors Whitney Buckmon, Tiffany McDonald and Brittany Osmon were selected to the second team.

A first-time honoree, Wynn currently leads FSU with a .372 average, second best in the ACC, after 45 starts this season. The Sharpsburg, Ga., native also ranks first on her team with 37 runs scored and a .518 slugging percentage. For conference-only games, Wynn batted a .404 average to top the league.

Buckmon and McDonald were honored for the second consecutive season with All-ACC second team accolades. Buckmon is just behind Wynn on the Seminole squad with her .350 average and leads the team with 23 stolen bases, seventh best in the ACC. The Stone Mountain, Ga., native’s 33 runs scored is ninth in the ACC for the regular season and third on her team.

McDonald has had an impressive senior season, leading the pitching staff with 16 wins in 169.2 innings pitched and 27 appearances. A native of Belfair, Wash., she has 203 strikeouts so far in 2008. In the tournament this week, McDonald needs just two strikeouts to break the current all-time record of 899 set by Jessica van der Linden in 2004.

Also earning her first All-ACC nod, Osmon leads FSU with nine doubles, six home runs and 41 RBI’s which ranks her third in the conference. The San Diego, Calif., native has also moved onto the top ten lists at Florida State in the putouts, home runs and RBI categories. She is currently third with 1,181 putouts, tied for seventh with 16 home runs and ninth with 111 career RBI’s.

The yearly awards were also handed out at the banquet with Virginia Tech’s Angela Tincher tapped as the ACC Pitcher of the Year, North Carolina’s Danielle Spaulding taking ACC Player of the Year, NC State’s Alyssa Allbritten is the ACC Rookie of the Year and North Carolina head coach Donna J. Papa was honored with her fourth ACC Coach of the Year award.

Florida State enters the fight for the 2008 ACC title as it takes on sixth-seed Boston College at 10:00 a.m. tomorrow at College Park, Md. Live stats during the entire tournament can be found on and all games will be available on live video streaming through

Related Articles