February 19, 2005 - by
FSU Men’s Track Wins Third Straight Title

Feb. 19, 2005

Complete Results

Chapel Hill, N.C. – The Florida State men’s track team has done it again. This year’s theme was – `Every point counts!’ as the Seminoles edged Clemson by two and one half points, 162.50 to 160, for its sixth overall league championship – fifth in six attempts since the 2002 indoor season.

On Saturday, February 19, 2005, the men’s squad won its third straight indoor Atlantic Coast Conference Indoor Track and Field Championship at Eddie Smith Field House in Chapel Hill, N.C. The win is the closest in conference history since UNC edged N.C. State in 1996. The women’s team finished in sixth place with 52 points.

“We were down 20 points through most of the meet,” said second-year head coach Bob Braman. “The thing that really surprised me was how well the freshmen ran. Walter wins the 60m dash after taking second in the trials. He wins the 200m in an unbelievable time on that track and then runs his first relay to help the team win.

The thing that really surprised me was how well the freshmen ran.
~ FSU head coach Bob Braman

“Same with Ricardo,” continued Braman, who is two-for-two at the league indoor championships meet. “He ran a great time in the 400m for that track then runs in the 200m dash for more points. He steps in to anchor the relay and ensure the event win and team title.”


~ freshman Ricardo Chambers won the 400m, took fourth in the 200m and anchored the 4x400m relay.

The title came down to the final event, the men’s 4x400m relay, comprised of senior Greg Johnson (Miami, Fla./FIU) and newcomers Elliot Wood (Sydney, Australia/ Narrabeen Sports), Walter Dix (Coral Springs, Fla./Coral Springs) and Ricardo Chambers (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla./Dwyer), who successfully defended FSU’s 1600m-relay title, bringing home the honor for the third consecutive year in a time of 3:14.07.

Rookie sensation Dix swept the 60m dash and 200m titles in times of 6.74 and 21.12. He is the first freshman in FSU-school history to take two indoor titles in one meet and only the second person overall to win multiple indoor events in a single season. Joe Allen won the long and triple jump events at the 2000 ACC Indoor Championships. He is also the first Tribe member to win the 60m dash since the league began competing in the event in 1998 and stopped Clemson’s streak of seven straight titles – beating reigning 60m dash champion Tye Hill by .02 seconds. Rafeeq Curry and Garrett Johnson to take titles in their first season of competition.

Junior All-American Rafeeq Curry (Miami, Fla./ACE Academy) recorded a provisional qualifying mark of 52’4.75″ (15.97m) in winning his third consecutive triple jump league title and sixth straight for the Seminoles, dating back to Joe Allen’s win in 2000. The mark was the farthest of all three championships meet wins. Curry has the most indoor conference individual titles in FSU-school history.

Reigning ACC Cross Country Champion junior Andrew Lemoncello (St. Andrews, Scotland/Stirling) continued FSU’s streak of 3000m run titles, winning in a season-best time of 8:12.42 while sophomore Tom Lancashire (Bolton, England/ Turton) took fourth overall in 8:16.62, combining for 15 points and moving FSU ahead of Clemson by one-half point. Lancashire also won the mile for ten points and anchored the DMR to a come from behind win for ten more points.

~ sophomore Tom Lancashire accounted for 25 points in the Seminoles victory.

Senior captain Ian Hornabrook (Southport, Australia/Rend Lake) won the prelimiary race in the mile run and finished in second in the finals in a career-best time of 4:10.26 just seconds behind Lancashire who finished in 4:09.08. The two combined for 18 points to close Clemson’s lead to less than ten points. Lancashire is just the second FSU runner to win the event, the first being Maarten van den Huevel in 2003.

“Tom was ten seconds down as the anchor leg in the DMR last night,” explained Braman. “And he catches the runner from Virginia and we win by .22 seconds. Today, he takes first in the mile for eight points and then fourth in the 3000m, which a lot of people counted us out of after our placing in the 5000m. In the 3000m, he came from being eighth to fourth place in the last 200m to score big for us. He accounted for 25 points towards our team total.”

Redshirt sophomore Garrett Johnson (Tampa, Fla./Tampa Baptist Academy) finished in second place in the shot put, tossing for an automatic qualifying mark of 63’8.25″ (19.41m). Johnson’s eight points brought FSU within one-half of a point of Clemson, who held the top spot through most of the weekend.

Junior Shawn Allen (Crystal River, Fla./Seven Rivers Christian) tied for third place in the high jump, recording a career-best height of 6’9.75″ (2.08m) for 5.5 points towards the team scoring.

In the 60m dash, freshman Kenny O’Neal (Oakland, Calif./Skyline), junior All-American Derrick Baker (Miami, Fla./Northwestern HS) and sophomore All-America Cedric Nabe (Geneva, Switzerland/Lycee St. Joseph) finished in fifth, sixth and eighth place, combining for eight points.

~ senior Lacy Janson won her third indoor ACC Championship in the pole vault.

On the women’s side, Miami dominated in their first league meet, winning with 138 points. The host Tar Heels took second place with 100 points.

“Our goal was to be in the top five and we came really close. It was a good effort and we made a lot of progress.”

Senior Lacy Janson (Sarasota, Fla./Cardinal Mooney) won her third ACC Indoor Pole Vault Championship, and sixth overall, vaulting a height of 12’7.5″ (3.85m) and ten points for the women’s team.

Senior Olympian Kimberly Walker (Port of Spain, Trinidad/Polytechnic) took second place in the 60m finals in 7.53, the fastest time in her career at FSU.

Sophomore Lindsay Nelson (Jacksonville, Fla./Mandarin) scored four points in the shot put, taking fifth place behind a throw of 45’9″ (13.94m).

Junior LaToya Legree (Lithonia, Ga./Stephenson) took fifth place in the triple jump behind a mark of 41’5.75″ (12.64m). Junior Evelyne Cynthia Niako (Stone Mountain, Ga./Stephenson) crossed the line sixth in the 400m finals in a season-best mark of 56.14.

The women’s 4x400m relay finished in fourth place in a time of 3:45.40, ending the meet and sealing the Seminoles top six finish. Juniors Marla Jackson (Jacksonville, Fla./Stanton College Prep), Niako, LaKendra McColumn (Lithonia, Ga./Southwest Dekalb) and Kim Adams (Stone Mountain, Ga./Stone Mountain) ran the legs in the top five finish.

Team finish (Men) – 1.Florida State, 162.50
2. Clemson, 160; 3. North Carolina, 65; 4. Virginia, 54; 5. Georgia Tech, 50; 6. Virginia Tech, 43.50; 7. Wake, 38; 8. N.C. State, 37; 9. Maryland, 27; 10. Duke, 16; 11. Miami, 10.

Team finish (Women)
– 1. Miami, 138 points; 2. North Carolina, 100; 3. Georgia Tech, 98; 4. Duke, 65; 5. Clemson, 55.50; 6. Florida State, 52; 7. Wake Forest, 38, 8. N.C. State, 37; 9. Virginia Tech, 36.5; 10. Maryland, 32; 11. Virginia, 11.


60m dash – Walter Dix – 6.74
200m dash – Walter Dix – 21.12
400m dash – Ricardo Chambers -47.65
Mile run – Tom Lancashire – 4:09.08
3000m run – Andrew Lemoncello – 8:12.42
Triple jump – Rafeeq Curry – 52’4.75″ (15.97m)
4x400m Relay (W) – (Greg Johnson, Elliot Wood, Walter Dix and Ricardo Chambers) – 3:14.07
Distance Medley Relay (M) – (Chris Nickinson, Greg Johnson, Kenny Jesensky and Tom Lancashire) – 9:53.55


Pole Vault – Lacy Janson – 12’7.5″ (3.85m)

Related Articles