January 28, 2010 - by
FSU Picked To Win ACC Atlantic Division

Jan. 28, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – For the third year in a row, the Florida State baseball team is favored to win the ACC’s Atlantic Division title as voted on by the league’s 12 head coaches.

The Seminoles garnered 70 points including 10 first place votes to win the Atlantic Division crown. Since the league’s inception of divisional play in 2006, the Seminoles have captured three of the four divisional titles including three straight in 2007, 2008 and 2009.

The Seminoles return seven position starters and eight pitchers who saw action off the mound in 2009 including all three pitchers from the weekend rotation in All-Americans Sean Gilmartin and Mike McGee and sophomore Brian Busch. FSU will also be led by captains Tyler Holt and Stephen Cardullo who hit .401 and .376, respectively in 2009. In all, the Seminoles welcome back 17 of 28 letterwinners for the upcoming season.

“Being picked to finish first in the Atlantic Division is just something that our young men understand is part of the process,” said head coach Mike Martin. “We know if we are to be successful it will have to be accomplished on the field. I am sure that our young men are flattered but know that we have to get better each day.”

Defending Atlantic Coast Conference champion Virginia, which made its first ever College World Series appearance last June, was picked as the 2010 preseason favorite to win the league as well as the Coastal Division. The Cavaliers were projected as the ACC’s 2010 champion on eight head coaches’ ballots. Three coaches chose Florida State and North Carolina received one vote.

2010 marks the fifth year of divisional play in the ACC, as both the Atlantic and Coastal Divisions have produced two different winners. Florida State (2007, 2008 & 2009) and Clemson (2006) have shared the Atlantic title, while North Carolina (2006, 2007 & 2009) has won three Coastal Division crowns with Miami finishing on top in 2008.

Below is a listing of the preseason coaches’ poll by divisions with 2009 records.

ACC Overall Champion:
Virginia – 8
Florida State – 3
North Carolina – 1

Atlantic Division
School, Points, Record
1. Florida State (10), 70, 45-18, 19-9 ACC
2. Clemson (2), 62, 44-22, 19-11 ACC
3. Boston College, 42, 34-26, 13-15 ACC
4. NC State, 38, 25-31, 10-20 ACC
5. Wake Forest, 21, 22-30, 6-24 ACC
6. Maryland, 19, 27-27, 10-20 ACC

Coastal Division
School, Points, Record
1. Virginia (11), 71, 49-15-1, 16-11-1 ACC
2. Georgia Tech, 57, 38-19-1, 17-10-1 ACC
3. North Carolina (1), 44, 48-18, 19-10 ACC
4. Miami, 42, 38-22, 18-12 ACC
5. Virginia Tech, 20, 32-21, 12-17 ACC
6. Duke, 18, 35-24, 15-15 ACC
(#) denotes first place divisional votes


Related Articles