April 11, 2005 - by
FSU Student-Athletes Recognized Monday At The 11th Annual Golden `Nole Awards Banquet

Photo Gallery

April 11, 2005

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – It was a Hollywood-like evening Monday night, as every Florida State student-athlete converged at the University Center Club for the 11th Annual Golden `Nole Award Banquet presented by the Florida State University athletics department. The awards were created to recognize the outstanding overall achievement by FSU student-athletes and athletic teams each year.

The Golden `Nole Award is presented each year to the student-athlete on each team who has exhibited the ideals of intercollegiate athletics. Head coaches select these student-athletes by evaluating athletic and academic success as well as their contribution to service to the university and in the community.

2004-05 Golden Nole Award winners:

Women’s Basketball – Linnea Liljestrand

Men’s Basketball – Adam Waleskowski

Men’s Cross Country – Eddy Rodriguez

Women’s Cross Country – Natalie Hughes

Football – Bryant McFadden

Soccer – Jez Ratliff

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Michael Averett, Pete Crane

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Emily Breen, Carrie Ellis, Courtney McClow

Volleyball – Amanda Santos

Baseball – Aaron Cheesman

Men’s Golf – Matthew Adcock

Women’s Golf – Whitney Brummett, Jaclyn Burch

Softball – Natasha Jacob, Casey Hunter

Men’s Tennis – Mat Cloer

Women’s Tennis – Mihaela Moldovan

Men’s Track & Field – Garrett Johnson, Andrew Diakos

Women’s Track & Field – Kim Walker, LaKendra McColumn

Other special awards were also presented at the banquet including the Doc Fauls Award, the ACC Top Six for Service Awards, the Seminole Impact Awards and the coveted Athletic Director’s Cup for Service.

The Doc Fauls award, established in 1998, is an award that recognizes the male and female senior Seminole student-athletes who have overcome the most adversity to participate in athletics for Florida State University. As the Head Athletic Trainer at Florida State University from 1954-1986, Don Fauls had the opportunity to touch the lives of many. He consistently treated each and everyone in an honest, professional manner and was always willing to take the time to help the athletes through the physical and emotional pain that often came with participation in intercollegiate athletics.

2004-05 Doc Fauls Award recipients

Brian Ross – Football

Lesley Palmer – Softball

The ACC Top Six for Service recipients were selected each month throughout the year for something unique that distinguished them as top performers in FSU’s community service program with the primary criteria being a willingness to participate and a desire to serve despite time constraints. The selected students made significant contributions to the community and were positive ambassadors for the department.

2004-05 ACC Top Six for Service Award recipients:

Ytai Abougzir – Men’s Tennis

Andrew Diakos – Men’s Track

Rodney Gallon – Football

Carey Galuppi – Softball

Renee Hill – Volleyball

Cathleen Willy – Women’s Cross Country

SAAC VP Carly Brieske and President Garrett Johnson

The Seminole Impact Awards are presented to individuals, groups or teams who have distinguished themselves as having a strong commitment to community service and that commitment has created a positive impact in the community through their continued participation. In the past, this award has been presented to entities who have either singularly done impressive amounts of service to the community, or have given birth to new community service programs, that will continue into the future.

2004-05 Seminole Impact Award recipients:

Sarah Griffin – Women’s Volleyball

Men’s & Women’s Swimming & Diving

The Athletic Director’s Cup for Service is the most prestigious award, and is presented annually to the team that contributes the most service hours to the community over the course of the entire year. The selection is made by measuring the total hours for the team and then dividing by the number of team members.

2004-05 Athletic Director’s Cup for Service Award recipient:

Women’s Golf (winners for the fourth straight year)

Related Articles