October 26, 2010 - by
FSU To Host ’12 NCAA Championship

Oct. 26, 2010

Florida State will play host to the first and second rounds of the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship. The Administrative Committee of the NCAA Division I Championships/Sport Management Committee recently approved the first and second rounds and regional sites for the 2012 tournament. It will mark the third time in school history that Florida State has served as a host site for the NCAA Championship as the Donald L. Tucker hosted the first and second rounds in 2004 and 2010.

Florida State was one of 16 sites selected to host the first and second rounds of the 2012 tournament which will take place on either March 17 and 19 or March 18 and 20. The dates of competition at each site will be determined in June of 2011. Florida State was joined by Maryland and North Carolina as host sites from the Atlantic Coast Conference. The 2012 championship will be hosted by institutions from 14 different conferences with College Station, Tex. (Texas A&M), Little Rock, Ark. (University of Arkansas) and Kingston, R.I (University of Rhode Island) hosting for the first time.

“We are overjoyed at being selected as a host institution for the 2012 NCAA Championship,” said Seminole head coach Sue Semrau. “We are very thankful that the administration from the department of athletics and the administration from the FSU campus know how important it is to our program to host the NCAA Tournament. We are very fortunate that the campus supports our program and look forward to bringing the NCAA Tournament to the loyal fans of Tallahassee once again.”

Cities chosen to host first and second-round games in 2012 include Ames, Iowa; Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Bowling Green, Ohio; Bridgeport, Connecticut; Chapel Hill, North Carolina; Chicago, Illinois; College Park, Maryland; College Station, Texas; Little Rock, Arkansas; Nashville, Tennessee; Norfolk, Virginia; Norman, Oklahoma; Notre Dame, Indiana; Spokane, Washington; Tallahassee, Florida and West Lafayette, Indiana. The four selected regional sites are Des Moines, Iowa; Fresno, California; Kingston, Rhode Island and Raleigh, North Carolina.

“Our student-athletes are what our athletics department is all about at Florida State and our women’s basketball team is one of the cornerstones of our entire program,” said Director of Athletics Randy Spetman. “Our top priority as administrators is to put our student-athletes in the best positions to be successful; and by hosting games in the NCAA Championship, we feel we are giving them the best chance to achieve great things on a national level. We are very excited to have been chosen to host the first and second rounds of the 2012 NCAA Tournament for women’s basketball.”

The following first- and second-round sites will host games either Saturday, March 17, and Monday, March 19 or Sunday, March 18 and Tuesday, March 20, 2012 (dates to be determined in June 2011)

Site                                    Host
Hilton Coliseum                         Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa

Pete Maravich Assembly Center Louisiana State University Baton Rouge, La.

Stroh Center Bowling Green State University Bowling Green, Ohio

Arena at Harbor Yard Fairfield University Bridgeport, Conn.

Carmichael Arena University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Chapel Hill, N.C.

Allstate Arena DePaul University Chicago, Ill

Comcast Center University of Maryland, College Park College Park, Md.

Reed Arena Texas A&M University, College Station College Station, Tex.

Jack Stephens Center University of Arkansas, Little Rock Little Rock, Ark.

Memorial Gymnasium Vanderbilt University Nashville, Tenn.

Ted Constant Center Old Dominion University Norfolk, Va.

Lloyd Noble Center University of Oklahoma Norman, Okla.

Joyce Center University of Notre Dame Notre Dame, Ind.

McCarthey Athletic Center Gonzaga University Spokane, Wash.

Donald L. Tucker Center Florida State University Tallahassee, Fla.

Mackey Arena Purdue University West Lafayette, Ind.

The following regional sites will host games either Saturday, March 24 and Monday, March 26 or Sunday, March 25 and Tuesday, March 27, 2012 (dates to be determined in June, 2011)

Site                                    Host
Wells Fargo Arena                       University of Northern Iowa
Des Moines, Iowa

SaveMart Center California State University, Fresno Fresno, Calif.

The Ryan Center University of Rhode Island Kingston, R.I.

RBC Center NC State University Raleigh, N.C.

Related Articles