January 11, 2007 - by
FSU Travels to LSU and Dallas Morning News Classic

Jan. 11, 2007

Tallahassee, Fla. –
The Match-Up

The men’s swimming and diving team (No. 11 in the collegeswimming.com poll) will take on 25th ranked Louisiana State on Friday January 12th at 10 a.m. CST, before sending a contingent of nine athletes to the 25th annual, Dallas Morning News Classic at the Perkins Natatorium on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The women’s team (No. 7 in the collegeswimming.com poll) will take on an unranked LSU squad.

The Dallas Morning News Classic brings three nationally ranked teams to SMU. California is the highest ranked team, checking in at fourth on the collegeswimming.com poll, followed by Northwestern who is ranked eighth, next is Florida State at 11th, while unranked host SMU rounds out the four team field.

All Time Series

This weekend’s meeting with LSU marks the 21st meeting between the two schools in dual meets. The men’s team leads the series 12-8 including last year’s 139-99 victory at home. The women’s team trails LSU in the all-time series 7-13, but FSU has won the last three meetings, including a 126-92 triumph at home last year.

Last season’s trip to the Dallas Morning News classic, the Seminoles finished in fourth place out of six teams. Florida took the championship, with Northwestern finishing in second, followed by SMU, FSU, Notre Dame and Washington.

Last time in the pool

In Florida State’s last trip to the pool, the women’s squad defeated North Florida, 143-83, and UNC-Wilmington, 140-89, to improve to 7-0. The men’s squad also defeated UNC-Wilmington by a score of 130-89 to move to 4-0. Freshman diver Terry Horner (Orlando, Fla.) led the way for the men’s team by winning both the one and three-meter diving events. In the three-meter event, Horner smashed the school record with a six dive total of 401.65. The women’s team was led by Senior Lauren Brick (Culpeper, Va.) who won the 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke and was a member of the 400-yard medley relay team. Brick’s time in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:02.88) came under the NCAA “B” standard of 1:03.86; it was the seventh time this season Brick has earned a NCAA “A” or “B” cut time in the event.

Homecoming for Harper

The trip to LSU is a homecoming for the Seminoles’ head coach. Neil Harper was a member of the Tigers from 1985-88. While at LSU, he earned seven All-America honors, placing him seventh on the LSU all-time list. Harper’s name can also be found on the top ten lists for the 200 yard freestyle, 200 yard IM, 100 yard backstroke and the 200 yard backstroke events. Harper also won four SEC individual and relay championships as well as being a part of the only LSU men’s squad to win an SEC title (1988).

Divide and Conquer

Immediately following the LSU meet, eight swimmers and one diver will hop on a plane and fly to Dallas, Texas, for the Dallas Morning News Classic. The detachment will include swimmers, Jarryd Botha (Worchester, South Africa), Ian Powell (Gurnsey, Channel Islands), Ed Denton (Maidenhead, England), Alex Kennon (Winter Haven, Fla.), Steve Roof (Canton, Ohio), Kyle Young (Oviedo, Fla.), Paul Erben (Panama City, Fla.) and newcomer Scott Thacker (Lynchburg, Va.). Diver Dan Frebel (Fort Wayne, Ind.) will also make the trip to Big “D.”

ACC and National Honors for Brick

Following the 168-138 victory over Florida, senior Lauren Brick received the Women’s National Swimmer of the Week award from collegeswimming.com. In addition, Brick received her third consecutive ACC Performer of the Week honor. Combining the three performer for the week honors with the one earned last year give Brick the distinction of being the only Seminole to earn four honors in their career.

Horner makes a name for himself

Freshman sensation Terry Horner earned his first career ACC performer of the week by setting a school record in the three meter diving event and winning both the one and three meter diving events in the meet against UNC-Wilmington. The POW honor is just the second such award to be given to a FSU diver since the award’s inception in 2001.

Top Times in the ACC

Florida State’s men currently hold the top spot in the conference in 12 of the 21 events. This is by far the most for any school in the conference. The women’s team holds seven top slots; this ties the Seminoles with Virginia for the most top times in the conference by a team.

Swimmer Event Time/Score
Alex Kennon 100 Freestyle 44.72
Kyle Young 200 Freestyle 1:38.21
Steve Roof 5000 Freestyle 4:22.29
Steve Roof 1000 Freestyle 9:05.84
Jarryd Botha 100 Backstroke 48.69
Jarryd Botha 200 Backstroke 1:45.10
Terry Horner 1 Meter Diving 379.50
Terry Horner 3 Meter Diving 401.65
Botha, Hollway, Hammond, Kennon 200 Free Relay 1:20.81
Young, Graves, Erickson, Owens 800 Free Relay 6:36.51
Powell, Jamerson, Swanson, Kennon 200 Medley Relay 1:29.17

Christie Raleigh 100 Freestyle 59.94
Jennifer Guyler 1000 Freestyle 9:54.03
Lauren Sprag 100 Butterfly 54.25
Romy Altmann 200 Backstroke 1:57.24
Lauren Brick 100 Breaststroke 1:01.17
Lauren Brick 200 Breaststroke 2:15.81
Raleigh, Brick, Sparg, A. King 200 Medley Relay 1:40.37

Next Competition

The next competition for the Seminoles is a January 26th home encounter with Indian River Community College. The Friday meet takes place at 4:00 p.m. at the Bobby E. Leach Center, and is a prelude to the January 27th meet with the third Ranked Auburn Tigers. The Auburn match-up takes place at 11:00 a.m. in the Bobby E. Leach Center. Admission to both meets is free.

Related Articles