May 12, 2010 - by
FSU Vs. OSU In ACC-Big 10

May 12, 2010

The Florida State basketball team will play host to Ohio State on Tuesday Nov. 30 in the 12th Annual ACC-Big Ten Challenge as the entire 11-game schedule of the longest running inter-conference series was released by ESPN. The game is one of the marquee matchups of the three-night series that has been won by the ACC in 10 of its first 11 years and will match two teams that finished in the top three of their respective conference standings and advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 2009.

The game is a re-match of the 2009 ACC-Big Ten Challenge that saw the Buckeyes defeat the Seminoles in a game played in Columbus, Ohio.

2010 ACC-Big Ten Challenge Schedule
Monday Nov. 29                        Wednesday Dec. 1
Virginia at Minnesota                 Michigan State at Duke
                                      Purdue at Virginia Tech
Tuesday Nov. 30                       NC State at Wisconsin
North Carolina at Illinois            Indiana at Boston College
Ohio State at Florida State           Maryland at Penn State
Michigan at Clemson
Georgia Tech at Northwestern
Iowa at Wake Forest

Teams from the ACC have won 67 of the 108 games played (.623) in the 11-year history of the event. The ACC won the event in the first 10 years of its existence with the 2009 event going to the Big Ten. For the sixth consecutive year, each of the 11 games of the event will be televised on the ESPN family of networks.

Florida State finished the 2009-10 season with a 22-10 record and a 10-6 record in the ACC which gave the Seminoles a third place finish in the ACC standings. The Seminoles advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the second year in a row and are one of only two teams to finish in the top four of the ACC standings in each of the last two seasons. The Seminoles return 11 of 13 letterwinners, four of their top five scorers and three of their top five rebounders to a program that has tied the school record for wins in a two year period.

Headlining the Seminoles’ returning players is junior Chris Singleton who was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year as well as to the All-ACC Third Team and the ACC All-Defensive team in 2010. He averaged a career high 10.2 points, a career-high 7.0 rebounds and finished in the top five in the ACC in both steals (2.2 spg) and blocked shots (1.5 spg) as a sophomore.

Florida State was one of the top defensive teams in the nation as it led the nation in field goal shooting percentage defense (.377) and led the ACC in scoring defense (60.2 ppg) and blocked shots (6.3 bpg). Under head coach Leonard Hamilton, the Seminoles are the fourth winningest program in the ACC since the beginning of the 2006-07 season.

Ohio State finished the 2009-10 season with a 29-8 overall record and a 14-4 mark in the Big Ten regular season race, which earned the Buckeyes a share of the league title with Michigan State and Purdue. Ohio State defeated Minnesota in the Big Ten Tournament title game before making the NCAA Sweet 16 after wins vs. UC-Santa Barbara and Georgia Tech in Milwaukee. Ohio State returns six letterwinners and four of the team’s top five scorers from last season. Gone is Evan Turner, a first team All-American, the Big Ten Player of the Year and winner of six national player of the year awards.

Dec. 1, 1999          Nov. 29, 2000           Nov. 28, 2001         Dec. 2, 2002
Florida State 60      at Florida State 71     Florida State 50      at Florida State 80
at Northwestern 46    Minnesota 76            at Northwestern 57    Iowa 67

Dec. 1, 2003 Nov. 30, 2004 Nov. 29, 2005 Nov. 28, 2006 at Florida State 71 Florida State 70 at Florida State 97 Florida State 66 Northwestern 53 at Minnesota 69 Purdue 57 at Wisconsin 81

Nov. 27, 2007 Dec. 3, 2008 Dec. 2, 2009 Nov. 30, 2010 at Florida State 75 Florida State 59 Florida State 64 Ohio State Minnesota 61 at Northwestern 73 at Ohio State 77 at Florida State

Related Articles