June 17, 2014 - by
FSU’s Boulware to be inducted into Orange Bowl Hall of Fame – Florida State University

FSU’s Boulware to be inducted into Orange Bowl Hall of Fame – Florida State University


Rotating image8

FSU's Boulware to be inducted into Orange Bowl Hall of Fame

Courtesy of the Orange Bowl Committee:

Miami Lakes, Fla. (www.orangebowl.org) - The Orange Bowl will induct Peter Boulware, Terry Kinard and Mike Tranghese into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame presented by Deloitte. The induction will take place at the AvMed Orange Bowl Coaches Luncheon presented by Deloitte at Jungle Island in Miami on January 2, 2014. Boulware is the seventh player from Florida State to be inducted into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame. Kinard will be the fourth Tiger to receive the honor, including his former head coach Danny Ford. Tranghese is the third commissioner to make into the Hall.

Peter Boulware is arguably the greatest pass-rusher to ever play in the Atlantic Coast Conference. He cemented himself with that recognition in the 1996 season when he led the nation and set an FSU single season record with 19 quarterback sacks. The ACC rewarded him with the Defensive Player of the Year Award. That same year, Boulware and the Seminoles staged a fourth quarter comeback against Notre Dame in the Orange Bowl. An outstanding student, he graduated early from Florida State and chose to enter the NFL draft. He finished his three - year college career with 34 sacks, which was only 1.5 sacks short of FSU's school record. The Baltimore Ravens selected him fourth overall in the 1997 NFL Draft. The young linebacker did not disappoint as he collected an impressive 11.5 sacks and was named NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. He played his entire nine-year professional career with the Ravens. He was selected to the Pro Bowl four times and led the team in sacks in three seasons. He ranks among the top in career sacks with the Baltimore (70). In 2000, he along with the Ravens' tenacious defense won their first Super Bowl. 

Terry Kinard is one of the most decorated players in Clemson football history. The star safety led the Tigers' defense that helped capture the school's first and only national championship in the 1982 Orange Bowl.  He was the first Clemson player to be a unanimous All-America pick, first two-time Clemson All-American defensive back and a first-team AP All-American two years in a row. He was also named the CBS National Defensive Player of the Year for the 1982 season. Kinard was the all-time Clemson leader in interceptions with 17, a mark that tied the 20-year-old ACC record. He also holds Clemson's record for tackles by a defensive back with 294 in his career. Kinard was drafted by the New York Giants tenth overall in 1983. He was instrumental in helping the Giants win their first Super Bowl in 1986. He played with the team from 1983-89 and was a Pro Bowl selection in 1988. He then completed his NFL career with the Houston Oilers in 1990, finishing with 31 interceptions and seven fumble recoveries. Kinard was inducted into College Football Hall of Fame in December 2001.

Mike Tranghese has worked as an administrator in collegiate athletics for more than 40 years. Tranghese was the first full-time employee in the Big East Conference and was named the league's second commissioner - a post he served from 1990 until 2009, making him the longest tenured commissioner Big East history. During his reign as commissioner, he led the launch of Big East football which included the addition of football powerhouses Miami, Virginia Tech and Syracuse. He also recruited Notre Dame as a member of the conference for basketball and other sports. Tranghese was one of the founding commissioners of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) which started in 1998 - 99. Beginning with that year, under his leadership, the Big East Champion or the ACC Champion became the host team of the Orange Bowl.  For two years Tranghese was a lead administrator for the BCS. He also lent his talents to another sport when served on the NCAA Men's Basketball Committee from 1996-2001. In October of 2013, Tranghese was selected as one of the thirteen inaugural members of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee. 

The 2014 Discover Orange Bowl, which will be played on January 3, at Sun Life Stadium in South Florida, is part of the Bowl Championship Series and pits the ACC Champion (or another high-ranking team in the event that the ACC Champion is selected to play in the BCS National Championship) against a BCS at-large team. The Orange Bowl is currently accepting online applications for media credentials for the 2014 Discover Orange Bowl. Accredited media can access the application by logging on to www.orangebowl.org/pressbox. For additional information about the Orange Bowl Committee or 2014 Discover Orange Bowl, photos or logos, please visit www.orangebowl.org or e-mail media@orangebowl.org. 


About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 351-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Discover Orange Bowl on January 3, 2014. Other Orange Bowl core events include the MetroPCS Orange Bowl Basketball Classic, Orange Bowl Youth Football Alliance presented by Sports Authority, Orange Bowl International Tennis Championships, Orange Bowl International Youth Regatta, Orange Bowl Swim Classic and Orange Bowl Paddle Championships. For more information on the 2013-14 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to www.orangebowl.org.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/50715

Leave a comment

FSU on YouTube

Related Articles