June 3, 2008 - by
FSU’s Carr And Rolle Name Preseason All-America By Phil Steele

June 3, 2008

Cleveland, OHGreg Carr was named a second team All-America and Myron Rolle a fourth team selection in Phil Steele’s 2008 College Football Preview. Thirteen Seminoles in total were named to the magazine’s preseason All-ACC team. Carr and linebacker Derek Nicholson were the only two first team preseason All-ACC selections.


Carr enters 2008 leading the nation among returning players with the highest average yards per catch for 100+ receptions at 18.6. Last season he was named All-ACC third team by Phil Steele. In 2007 Carr set new career highs for yards (795) and receptions (45) in a season he also set new career highs for receptions (8) and yards (140) in a game. The senior is only the sixth player in school history with 30 catches in three straight seasons and he is currently 17th in school history with 109 catches. Carr has averaged one TD in 68% of his career games and has caught a TD pass in almost 46% of his career games. The Seminoles are 12-5 when Carr scores. The 6’6″ wideout is currently tied for eighth in ACC history for career touchdowns and trails only Peter Warrick (31) and E.G. Green (29) for career TD’s by an FSU receiver.


Rolle, a rising junior, started all 13 games for the Seminoles in 2007 and has started 23 consecutive games entering the 2008 season. Rolle was one of only five Seminole players on the defensive side of the ball who started at the same position in all 13 regular season games. He was fourth on the team in tackles with 67 and has 144 total tackles in the first two seasons of his career. Last year he set his single-season career-high with 36 unassisted tackles.


The New Jersey native recorded at least five tackles in nine of his 13 games played and he was tied for third on the team with eight tackles in the Music City Bowl. In that bowl game, Rolle forced the first fumble of his career and it was returned for 52 yards by Tony Carter and set up an FSU TD, which tied the game at 14-14.


Nicholson, a senior linebacker, joins Carr on the All-ACC first team. Seminoles show up in nine different slots on the second team. Drew Weatherford (QB), Antone Smith (RB), Rodney Hudson (OT) and Preston Parker (WR) are all representing the offense. Everette Brown (DE), Patrick Robinson (CB), Tony Carter (CB) and Rolle (SS) were selected on the defensive side of the ball. Parker was also named second team as a punt returner.


Center Ryan McMahon and punter Graham Gano were both named to the third team.

Related Articles