May 5, 2010 - by
Golf At Golden Ocala

May 5, 2010

The No. 10 ranked Florida State men’s golf team will close out is 2010 regular season as it travels to play in the one-day, 36-hole Golden Ocala Invitational at the Golden Ocala Golf and Country Club May 6. The Seminoles most recently finished in fifth place at the ACC Championship (April 23-25) and will next play in one of six NCAA regional championships (May 20-22) at a site which will be announced on May 10. The Seminoles have earned three team victories and seven top five team finishes this year and have been ranked among the nation’s top 10 for virtually the entire spring season.

No. 10 Florida State is joined by No. 15 Florida, No. 21 North Florida, UCF and USF in the second annual Golden Ocala Invitational at the Golden Ocala Golf and Country Club. The event will be played on the par 72, 6,932 yard course which is located among the gently rolling hills of central Florida. The Ron Garl designed course incorporates eight masterfully recreated tribute holes from some of the world’s finest golf courses — Augusta, Royal Troon, Baltusrol and St. Andrews.

Seminole sophomore Brooks Koepka was been named the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year – an award which he shares with Virginia’s Ben Kohles in a vote by the ACC 11 head men’s golf coaches. Koepka, who is ranked sixth in the nation by GolfWeek Magazine, is the first Seminole since Bobby Cochran in 1994 to be named the ACC Player of the Year. He was ranked as the nation’s No. 1 golfer for two weeks during the months of February and March. Koepka has a career-low 71.48 stroke average and has an 11-5 record in head to head competition against the players he has competed against who are currently ranked in the nation’s top 10. Koepka was named the ACC Freshman of the Year in 2009. He is only the seventh player in ACC history to earn ACC Freshman and Player of the Year honors.

Florida State’s Brooks Koepka and senior Seath Lauer were named to the All-ACC Men’s Golf Team. It marks the fourth consecutive season that two Florida State players have been named to the All-ACC Team. It also marks the first time Koepka and Lauer have earned All-ACC honors during their careers. In earning All-ACC honors, Koepka and Lauer are the seventh and eighth players to be named to the All-ACC team in the last four years. Prior to head coach Trey Jones’s arrival in 2004, the Seminoles had a total of five players earn All-ACC honors since joining the ACC for the 1992 season. Since his arrival as head coach, the Seminoles have earned eight All-ACC selections, had one player earn ACC Rookie (Koepka in 2009) and ACC Player (Koepka in 2010) of the year honors and won the ACC Championship in 2008.

Name              Tourn.  Rds   Par   -75   Low    Stks.    Avg.
Brooks Koepka     9       25    14    22    65     1,787    71.48
Seath Lauer       10      29    12    25    66     2,093    72.17
Doug Letson       5       14    7     11    70     1,021    72.93
Kyle Cobb         1       3     2     2     69     219      73.00
Drew Kittleson    9       26    8     20    68     1,912    73.54
Wesley Graham     9       26    8     17    68     1,913    73.58
Michael Hebert    7       20    6     11    67     1,493    74.65
Doug Letson       9       26    8     14    68     1,946    74.85
Cameron Knight    2       6     2     2     70     456      76.00

Related Articles