May 15, 2012 - by
Golf Begins Regional Championship Play Thursday

May 15, 2012

Round 1 Tee Times Get Acrobat Reader

Regional Championship Notes Get Acrobat Reader

Koepka Feature Get Acrobat Reader

Graham Feature Get Acrobat Reader

The Florida State men’s golf team will make its school record tying seventh consecutive NCAA Championships appearance when it plays in the NCAA Oklahoma Regional Championship at the Jimmie Austin / University of Oklahoma Golf Course May 17-19, 2012. A total of 81 teams in six different regions will compete for the opportunity to advance to the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf National Championship round at the Riveria Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif., May 29-June 3. The Seminoles’ selection marks the seventh consecutive season (each year since 2006) that the Seminoles have played in the NCAA Championship tournament. The Seminoles will need to finish as one of the top five teams in the region to advance to the national championship round for the second time in the last three seasons and the third time since 2007. Florida State finished in a school best third place at the national championships in 2010.

No. 23 Florida State is joined by No. 1 Texas, No. 12 Georgia Tech, No. 13 Washington, Oklahoma, St. Mary’s of California, Illinois, Middle Tennessee State, South Carolina, San Diego, Arizona, Sacramento State, Indiana/Purdue-Indianapolis and Loyola of Chicago at this week’s NCAA Oklahoma Regional Championship. The three round, 54 hole championship will be played on the Jimmie Austin / University of Oklahoma Golf Course – a par-72, Perry Maxwell design stretches to 7,387 yards from the championship tees, boasting 18 holes of scenic splendor.

Florida State senior Brooks Koepka was named the 2012 ACC Men’s Golfer of the Year for the second time in his career as selected by a vote of the league’s 11 head coaches. Koepka, who was named the ACC Co-Player of the Year in 2010, is only the sixth player in ACC history to be named the league’s Golfer of the Year multiple times and is only the third player in ACC history to earn multiple ACC Golfer of the Year honors and ACC Freshman of the Year honors during his career. He was named the ACC Freshman of the Year in 2009. Koepka was also named to the All-ACC team for the third time in his career – making him the second player in school history to earn All-ACC honors three times.

Multiple ACC Golfer of the Year Award Winners
Brooks Koepka      Florida State        2010, 2012
Ben Kohles         Virginia             2010, 2011
Ryan Blaum         Duke                 2005, 2006
Bill Haas          Wake Forest          2003, 2004
Bryce Molder       Georgia Tech         1999, 2000, 2001
David Duval        Georgia Tech         1992, 1993

All-America candidates Brooks Koepka and Chase Seiffert were both named to the All-ACC team in a vote by the league’s 11 coaches. It marked the school record tying third time that Koepka has earned all-ACC honors as marked the first time Seiffert has earned the honor in what is generally considered the best conference in college golf. It marked the school record sixth consecutive time that two Seminoles have earned All-ACC honors in the same season. Koepka is the second player to earn All-ACC honors three times as a Seminole and joins only All-American Matt Savage (2007, 2008 and 2009) as the only two Florida State men’s golfers in school history to be three-time ACC selections. Koepka is one of five players in school history to earn All-ACC honors multiple times during his career – he is joined by Savage, Drew Kittleson (2009 and 2011), Jonas Blixt (2007 and 2008) and Christian Raynor (1994 and 1995) on that prestigious Seminole list of golfers.

The Seminoles’ appearance in the 2012 NCAA Tournament marks the first time the Seminole men’s golf program has made seven consecutive NCAA appearances. The Seminoles will play in a regional championship for the seventh consecutive season under head coach Trey Jones. Prior to the Seminoles appearing in the last six NCAA Tournaments and prior to Jones’ arrival for the 2004 season, Florida State had played in only one NCAA tournament from 1998-2006. The Seminoles have now played in seven regional championships in Jones’ nine seasons as Florida State’s head coach.

Florida State will make its seventh consecutive NCAA Regional appearance under head coach Trey Jones this week in Oklahoma. The Seminoles finished in second place at the 2010 NCAA Central Regional Championship and have earned two top five regional championships under Jones.

Seminoles' Regional Finishes Since 2006
Year   Region                                      Place
2006   NCAA East Regional Championship             14th
2007   NCAA East Regional Championship             5th
2008   NCAA West Regional Championship             21st
2009   NCAA Southeast Regional Championship        7th
2010   NCAA Central Regional Championship          2nd
2011   NCAA Central Regional Championships         T8th

Seminole head coach Trey Jones has now led Florida State into the NCAA Tournament seven times in his first nine years at Florida State. He is now ranked second in school history with his seven trips to the NCAA Tournament – behind only Don Veller who led the Seminoles to nine NCAA Tournaments during his illustrious coaching career.

In being named the ACC Men’s Golfer of the Year for the second time in his career in 2012, Brooks Koepka became only the third player in ACC history to earn ACC Player of the Year honors multiple times during his career (2010 and 2012) AND ACC Freshman of the Year honors (2009) during his career.

Florida State’s starting line-up at the 2012 NCAA Oklahoma Regional Championship (Brooks Koepka, Doug Letson, Wes Graham, Chase Seiffert, and Daniel Berger) is a cumulative total of 33 strokes UNDER par in their last four events.

Florida State Men's Golf Statistics (Fall 2011 / Spring 2012)
Name              Tourn.   Rounds    Par    -75    Low    Strokes     Avg
Brooks Koepka     9        27        16     26     63     1,909       70.70
Chase Seiffert    6        18        9      17     66     1,288       71.56
Wesley Graham     8        24        13     21     67     1,738       72.42
Doug Letson       8        24        11     19     68     1,742       72.58
Bjorn Hellgren    2        6         4      4      69     436         72.67
Daniel Berger     8        24        9      20     66     1,754       73.08
Joaquin Lolas     6        18        2      12     70     1,354       75.22

Related Articles