February 10, 2012 - by
Golf To Gator Invitational

Feb. 10, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) –
Florida State, which is ranked No. 17 in the GolfStat national rankings, opens its spring season at the SunTrust Gator Invitational at the Mark Bostick Golf Course at the University of Florida Feb. 11-12, 2012. The event will feature 54 holes of stroke play, 36 on Saturday and a final 18 on Sunday at the 6,701, par-70 layout. Play will begin each day at 8 a.m. with live stats available on golfstat.com. The Seminoles are ranked in the top 20 nationally in all three major polls — No. 17 by GolfStat, No. 20 by GolfWeek Magazine and No. 20 in the GolfWorld/Nike Coaches’ poll.

Florida State is joined by No. 3 Arkansas, No. 4 Auburn. No. 7 North Florida, No. 22 UCF, Florida, Georgia Southern, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Liberty, Memphis, Mississippi State, South Alabama and UAB in the 2012 SunTrust Gator Invitational. Florida State enters the 2012 Gator Invitational looking to win the team championship for the first time since 1981 when Hall of Fame golfer Paul Azinger won the individual title and led the Seminoles to the team championship. Jonas Blixt, who began his career on the PGA Tour this spring, became the second Seminole to win the individual title at the event when he claimed medalist honors in 2009. Florida is the eight time defending champions in the event.

Florida State senior Brooks Koepka, who is ranked as the No. 5 individual golfer in the nation by GolfWeek Magazine, was been named to the Ben Hogan Award Watch list which annually recognizes the nation’s top collegiate golfers. The most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee represents leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf. A list of 10 semifinalists will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 11, and then will be pared down to three finalists on Thursday, May 10. The winner will be crowned at a banquet at Colonial Country Club on Monday, May 21, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational. The award, which was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Junior Doug Letson finished in a tie for 40th place in the Jones Cup Invitational at the Ocean Forest Golf Club in Sea Island, Ga. He finished with scores of 83-75-73 as he earned progressively better scores on each of the final two days of the event. In finishing with a one over par scored of 73 during the final round, he carded a tournament high three birdies as compared to only one in his first two rounds combined. First contested in 2001, the Jones Cup Invitational brings together many of the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for a hard-fought three-day competition.

Director of Golf and Head Men’s Golf Coach Trey Jones has added two new professionals to the Seminole staff: Robert Duck as an assistant coach and Chad Smith as the Golf Operations Manager. Duck comes to Florida State from The Hambric Sports Group where he had work as a player manger since 2003. He has been a top amateur player in his native England and earned All-American honors at Augusta State where he played from 1998-2001. Duke led the Jaguars to three NCAA Championship appearances and was the interim head coach at his alma mater in 2003. Smith, who graduated from Florida State in 2005, will oversee operations for the men’s and women’s teams and coach staff, manages all business administration and coordinates team travel. He is also the assistant director of the Seminole Intercollegiate Men’s Golf Tournament.

Florida State Men's Golf Statistics (Combined Fall 2011)
Name             Tourn.   Rounds   Par    -75    Low    Strokes    Avg
Brooks Koepka    3        9        5      8      66     636        70.67
Bjorn Hellgren   2        6        4      4      69     436        72.67
Doug Letson      3        9        3      7      69     657        73.00
Wesley Graham    2        6        2      5      71     440        73.33
Daniel Berger    3        9        1      6      70     671        74.56
Joaquin Lolas    3        9        1      6      71     682        75.78
Kyle Cobb        1        3        0      2      75     228        76.00

Related Articles