November 1, 2007 - by
Harvey Named ACC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year

Nov. 1, 2007

Greensboro, N.C. – Less than a week after leading her team to another set of program firsts, Florida State coach Karen Harvey was honored as the Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year. In just her first season with the Seminoles, Harvey has led FSU to a No. 3 national ranking, the school’s first ACC Championship and the women’s first ACC individual champion.

“It’s an honor, not just for me, but for our whole coaching staff as well, I’ve got a lot of people helping me” said Harvey. “Of course, the girls made some history on Saturday, so they’re a part of this too. We’re definitely excited to keep going and hit our peak at the NCAA Championships.”

With the help of Harvey, former University of Illinois head coach, the Seminoles improved from a fourth-place, 118-point finish at last year’s ACC Championship to winning the conference crown with 64 points. Florida State also went from a seventh-place 268-point finish at the 2006 NCAA Pre-National Meet to a second-place, 123 point finish behind No. 1 Stanford.

“When I hired Karen this summer, I felt like she was one of the best coaches in the country and this certainly validates it,” said head coach Bob Braman. “I’m very excited for Karen and the ladies, she’s done a wonderful job. I’m sure she’s one of the coaches who will be in the running for the national coach of the year.”

In addition to this year’s team accomplishments, Harvey also coached her student-athletes to new levels of individual accomplishment. Five of the top 10 records for Florida State 6k times have been broken by members of this year’s women’s squad. Among those record breakers was sophomore All-America and four-time ACC Player of the Week Susan Kuijken, who has finished first in all four races she’s competed in this season. Harvey also coached two of her team members–Kuijken and senior Barbara Parker–to All-ACC honors, making them the first duo in women’s program history to earn the title in the same year.

Harvey and the ACC Champion women’s cross country team will be honored tonight, with a special torch lighting at the Unconquered Statue outside University Center A at 7:00 p.m.

Related Articles